Can’t Hold On But We Try

image

Looking around the blogosphere put me in the mood for a rambling type of post. I was going to say someone in particular inspired me, someone I’ve known for a while, but it crossed my mind they might not enjoy having attention drawn to them as a ‘rambler’… thanks for nothing, they’d say! Now, if I said “I was inspired by the beauty and and intelligence of this blog,” that would be something else, though they might still suspect me of wanting something.

I could have looked at the long list of Daily Prompts for a blog idea, but who wants to do that all the time? It keeps me ticking over, and I’m grateful, but a blog is a blog and sometimes we want our own ideas. It’s my blog and I’ll ramble if I want to.

The other day I bought digital tracks for the first time in my life.

(1) The Pachelbel Canon (James Galway; Glen Spreen)
(2) Sunface (Tanita Tikarum)
(3) Goodbye My Friend (Linda Ronstadt)

I usually get CDs but they are becoming harder to find. Some are too expensive.

I had trouble tracking down the right version of the Pachelbel Canon. Even if it bears the magic name ‘James Galway’ it’s not guaranteed to be the version I’m thinking of. A while ago I bought a CD which I thought had the James Galway / Glen Spreen version. The Peerless 2×2 version of Canon D sounded more like James Galway than the James Galway version did! Turns out there’s an older version of the CD with the Glen Spreen version, but it changed to something else in the newer version.

End result: turning to iTunes in desperation and clicking the ’99p’ button. Having clicked on one, I threw caution to the howling winds and bought more.

Sunface I just love. I have that album on vinyl (Everybody’s Angel). I have my old hi-fi in the room but the speakers aren’t working, so I was missing the song. It’s the same with Goodbye My Friend, which was on the album Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl Like the Wind.

Those are the first three digital tracks I ever bought and so far seem to be the last. I still prefer CDs if I can get them. Although… I’m going to have to get Rockelbel’s Canon (on CD). Poor cellists… lol.

Life’s so fragile and love’s so pure
We can’t hold on but we try
We watch how quickly it disappears
And we never know why

[verse from Goodbye My Friend]

Leave a Reply

