Put Coffee On, Read Blogs (and comments on introversion)

Coffee pot, mug, miniature rose and bear

A few mixed things running through my mind…

There are books I read recently which strike me as important because of the issues they raise… books such as Quiet by Susan Cain. I’ve often felt things are organized in a way that suits only some types — confident types with good hearing! There are no options, no flexibility. You’re considered flawed if you find a situation more overwhelming than others do, but if they were you, they’d be exactly the same for the same reasons!

Another book, Being Wrong by Kathryn Schultz, had a big impact on me, and I always think back to it when someone is deemed stupid for holding different opinions. We equate ‘wrong’ with ‘stupidity’, which is one reason why people have such a horror of being caught out. Yet there is more to it; mistakes are unavoidable but have their uses. Perhaps our thinking has to change.

A few days ago I was reading the Culture Monk’s post on conflict, and commented that a lot of conflict is unnecessary… too many people base their actions on what they think, not what they know. We accept our own imperfections (to a point) and that of people we love, but expect perfection from everyone else. We look at other people and think we know them, yet have barely scratched the surface. I reckon this is why we need real conversations, not just Facebook status updates and space-limited chats…

I have to say I identified with the bit in Quiet that says introverts love deep and meaningful conversations and find small talk frustrating! I have felt embarrassed on my own behalf, seeing myself as a social clodhopper, but if there are others out there like me, I don’t need to worry so much.

There’s presumably controversy about whether people should be classified as introverts and extroverts, and especially if we should say ‘introverts do this thing and that thing’ whereas maybe extroverts do as well. If we wear the terminology lightly and just pay attention to the message, we can see the book is important because it’s a voice that says “no, there’s nothing wrong with you! You’re one of many.”

I’ve become more of a reader than a writer. Though I’ve not visited many blogs lately, I get hold of a lot of books and search Google for articles. It’s likely I would read blogs on a regular basis if I figured out how to work them into my daily routine (and didn’t overwhelm myself with things like BuzzFeed).

My sister gave me a pink espresso pot for my birthday. I don’t hear it bubble when coffee is coming through, but I feel it rumble on the hob. I’m not much of a blogger now, but… put coffee on, read blogs? Sounds perfect to me.

6 responses

  1. Hey you, been way too long. I went in search of an image for my latest poem and found one of yours that seemed to fit perfectly. So used it and sited you, which brought me here to give you a heads up. I, like you, am doing a lot of reading these days. Good to know we are on similar tracks. Hope all is well with you and yours,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    1. Hi Elizabeth,

      Good to hear from you! Only just found this. Was pondering writing another blog post… this is becoming an annual event. ;-D

      Maybe I should write a haiku a day, might be easier….

      Hope you are well!

      Delilah / Diddums

  2. The haiku sounds good. You could use your images for inspiration. Or we could exchange some and do it together.

    Elizabeth

    1. Do you write a lot of haiku(s)? I don’t know if I would do it, but it’s a thought. I don’t know what I would write any more — about apps, maybe!

  3. Missing your updates. I hope you are well.

    1. Hi Drifting

      Sorry I missed your message — I don’t get the notifications, though I should do. Hope you are well too! Nothing exciting going on here. I started to write a post a while back but never finished. I’m still around, though. 🙂

      Hope everything’s well with you.

Leave a Reply

