Stupid Things I Do

I wrote the following in my private journal: “You know, all that chatter is the kind of stuff I thought would be fun on a blog, with names changed to protect the guilty. But it’s far more complicated in real life, hedged around with ethics, dangers and concerns. I end up with cold feet, and whatever goes on a blog now is not quite the same. It has become too difficult for me to deal with.

I’m still attracted to the idea of it, though. One of the reasons I’ve come back to my blog, for this post at least, is that I was inspired by another journal I read. That’s always the kind I wanted to write, but I don’t know if I have the courage. I always like to put down my thoughts, so you would think it would be easy, but it’s not.

I bought an iPad, thinking it would make it easier to write or doodle things on the fly. Instead I got terribly distracted and spent a lot of time playing games or finding new things to bookmark. While looking around, I found one blogger who said he would add something to the list of ‘Stupid Things I Do that I Don’t Know How to Stop.’ I was tickled at the idea of such a list, so here’s mine:

  • Turning on the iPad every morning
  • Constant surfing on the internet
  • Sitting up too late
  • Opening the wrong drawer YEARS after reorganizing
  • Writing too-long emails
  • Having a Facebook presence
  • Avoiding my blog
  • Starting new digital paintings but only finishing one in twenty
  • Downloading new Kindle books without having read the hundreds I have

It doesn’t help that I’m still reading The God Delusion a chapter at a time. I’m also reading How to be Assertive in Any Situation on my Kindle, Hung Lou Meng in iBooks and Five Little Peppers and How They Grew in the Kindle app.

The iPad is supposed to be a useful organizer and communications device, but my attention gets scattered and I lose my focus!

Anyway, I try. Yesterday I went through a list of recommended apps and downloaded several new ones. I had trouble finding the BBC Weather app (not mentioned in the list anyway) — it was sorted into ‘iPhone Only’ in the App Store. It’s supposed to be for iPads as well, so I’m confused. While I was at it, I downloaded the WordPress app… you may not realize it, but that was a great leap forward. Could be a sign of things to come! Note that I didn’t say ‘great’ things… just ‘things’.

7 responses

  1. ‘Could be a sign of things to come!’ – I hope so, have missed you in the blogosphere!

    1. Thanks, 🙂 I have missed your blog too, as well as Liz’s! I expect the iPad will keep me more on the ball.

  2. You’re back!! So lovely to see you up and about in the blogging world again! :). Congratulations on getting an iPad. I personally love my iPad, but you are right that it can threaten to capture your full attention and leave little for the rest of Life with all the bells and whistles it has to offer!

    Hope to see more of your posts agsin soon!

    1. Great to see you still here… I was dreading to find you and everyone had gone while I was hibernating! Maybe we can post iPad stuff from time to time… something else to blog about. 🙂

      1. P.S. My new name is working, hooray!

  3. Hooray! 🙂 Glad to see you blogging 🙂

    1. Not as glad as I am to see you still here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

