Real Artists

From TV yesterday: “Real artists don’t paint elephants.”

😯 I would say that people can’t be pigeon-holed, and nor can artists. If they could, it would make them less part of the world; less real.

I’m inclined to wonder if there’s a ‘let’s make everyone else feel they’re of no value’ thing going on… perhaps in every field you care to think of. It’s as though people ‘possess’ the field they are part of; they make up arbitrary rules and impossible standards to try and keep everyone else out.

3 responses

  1. I’ve seen some wonderful paintings of elephants, and I’ve seen elephants painted for religious parades in India. I’d say that they were painted by “real artists.”

    I think music and art is for everybody.

  2. I figure if you don’t like paintings of elephants why have one?

  3. That’s such a silly thing to say. I feel anyone who says something like that has an inferiority complex and has to put others down to make themselves feel better. I agree with your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

