Computers and Insomnia

Catching Mum playing a computer game of solitaire before bed, I told her I had just read that if we use computers too late at night, we will have trouble sleeping. The brain interprets the bright light from the screen as being daylight, and is confused.

“WHAT brain?!” said Mum.

Anyway, it hasn’t stopped us. We still play cards, type out our journals and look up random things on eBay, Amazon or Google, then lie wide awake in our beds and stare at the ceiling. When we finally fall asleep, we dream we’re living in caves with oil lamps lighting our books.

Which reminds me, I forgot to finish my chocolate chip cheese… but who needs it? I have weird dreams anyway.

4 responses

  1. This is why I don’t have a TV in the bedroom, and unless I’m feeling unwell, my laptop is in another room. Even so, I’ve been finding it tricky coming home and working on my assignments on the computer and then trying to shut my brain off to sleep. It can be rather frustrating…

    1. Same here! Though I think having trouble ‘switching off’ and getting to sleep at night has more to do with my brain being active about certain things than about the glare of the screens. I never used to station a computer of any kind in my bedroom, but in the darkest months when I was busy with long 3D renders, I brought my laptop in and put it where I could keep an eye on it from my bed. I rather liked that, as it made me feel I was still ‘connected’ with my projects. Walking away from them at night makes me feel a bit ‘cut off’ and restless!

  2. chocolate chip cheese?

    1. Morrisons supermarket. 🙂 The cheese part is a sharp white cheese, and the chocolate chip part is quite soft and doesn’t seem much sweeter.

Leave a Reply

