Ten Questions Meme

Found this meme on Geo’s blog, and couldn’t resist!

1.If you blog anonymously, are you happy doing this? if you aren’t anonymous, do you wish you started out anonymously so that you could be anonymous now?

I guess so, though my blog isn’t hidden from close friends and family. They are told where it is, which gives me extra incentive to behave! I don’t pester them to read it; I will send them a copy of any post that might interest them (about once in a blue moon), but apart from that it’s just as though I’m chatting over the hedge to neighbours. Family and friends can listen in or not, as they please.

2. Describe an incident that shows your inner stubborn side.

Only one?? Hum. OK… like when my laptop’s hard drive corrupted, with data I hadn’t backed up!

I wanted to retrieve my data and was sure there had to be a way, but when I asked around, people either didn’t know, or were too cautious to interfere. I kept searching online, and it actually took quite a lot of searching before I even heard about Linux emergency disks.

I don’t know anything at all about Linux, and my old Mac doesn’t burn DVDs, but I dug out a rarely-used CD writer and burned one of these Linux thingies to CD. It’s all a while ago now, so I can’t even remember the terminology.

There weren’t exactly step-by-step instructions on how to boot up a malfunctioning Windows laptop to retrieve your data, and it must have taken a few days and nights of cramming, trial and error, during which I was fully aware that if you boot up your corrupt hard drive too much, the data could get worse and worse… if your data is important to you, it isn’t really recommended unless you know what you are doing. Which I didn’t.

Somehow, however, I got my files off onto an external drive (very slow process as sometimes it dropped out… pretty corrupted, I guess. I was saving files and folders one by one, and each one took a long time). After which I sent off the laptop for repair.

It well illustrates my stubborn side, as I felt the entire time as though I was pushing a boulder uphill. Nobody would help me do what I wanted to do; I couldn’t find clear instructions… just hints and tips in discussion forums, some more useful than others. Worse, I found that friends disagreed with my efforts, which made me feel silly and a nuisance. One suggested I put out a call on the internet for Linux-related help, and meet whoever might come forward… advice I didn’t consider sound!
“It doesn’t matter!! You don’t have anything important on that laptop, just send it off and get it fixed!”

That made me angry, I admit; it’s one thing for me to say “well, it won’t be the end of the world if I lose all this stuff, or if someone else sees it,” but it’s quite another thing for someone else to call MY data rubbish. 😉

There were pictures I would have missed… but I was stubborn, and I got them back.

3. What do you really see when you look at yourself in the mirror?

I see someone who questions herself a lot, and worries she doesn’t have all the answers. Who wonders why even the experts don’t seem to have all the answers. And then wonders why she expects any, and what she would do with the answers if she had them!

4. What is your favourite summer cold drink?

Sweetheart Stout with ice (as a treat).
On an everyday basis it used to be Coca-Cola, but recently I have been going more for iced orange juice or water.

5. When you take time for yourself, what do you do?

Disappear into Photoshop, Bryce or Vue.
Or organize possessions and files (databases, spreadsheets, lists, Smart Folders, various external back-up drives!)

6. Is there something you still want to accomplish in your life?

Lots of things… but it feels like bad karma to talk too loudly about what. 🙂

7. When you attended school, were you the class clown, the class overachiever, the shy person, or always ditching?

Probably all of them. I would sheer away from situations if I could. Very shy and rather lost, as I never knew what was going on. Useless at P.E. but a fast runner; top of my university-rated class in English; very poor in Latin and had to drop it… then I went back a year or two later and got a Higher A in it. I either do very well or very badly… my life is a patchwork of drab awfulness and flying colours.

8. If you close your eyes and want to visualize a very poignant moment in your life, what would you see?

Long silence while I tried this…

Eventually what came swimming out of the blackness was a very small thing. My parents and sister went to Africa when I was six, leaving me at home with my grandparents. One day my grandmother showed me our globe. She pointed at a squiggly splotch, and said “that is where they are.” Quite often I would look at the globe, and study the place where my family was, then would look at where I was (a much smaller splotch), and the route as the crow flies between… it was comforting. Globes are much nicer than maps.

9. Is it easy for you to share your true self in your blog, or are you more comfortable writing posts about other people or events?

I’m not all that comfortable talking about others, or about outside events… I might get something wrong, or the ‘others’ might take issue, or I might betray some of my awful drab ignorance. 🙂 At least when I talk about myself, I know my subject, though I consider more and more of what’s fair to me as well. It’s all too easy to be unfair to oneself.

10. If you had the choice to sit down and read a book or talk on the phone, which would you do and why?

Definitely read a book. 🙂 I wouldn’t hear whoever was on the other end of the phone, so that would be time wasted…

Leave a Reply

