Please Look the Other Way While I Just (mumble mumble) This Painting

Dear me, tsk. Didn’t mean to spend any money, so what did I do but walk into a gallery and buy a painting? I loved the crisp lines and glowing colours of it, and it was in a nice silvery wood frame as well! Oh.

Sometimes when you buy something that wasn’t especially ‘useful’, you get a sinking feeling later on, but when I got home and held the painting against a wall, I knew it was still perfect. It fits in, as far as anything can fit into my utilitarian ‘mishmash’ of a lifestyle. Also it’s refreshingly different as there are no cats and wizards in it…

Of course, when I showed it to my sister, she said (jokingly), “very nice…. what is it?”

Beautiful, that’s what it is. It’s not four rough painted squares with vivid red splashes of paint on it, or anything like that; it’s a stylized landscape in pleasant but landscapy colours.

I was quite embarrassed about buying it; not because of what it is, but because part of me thought maybe it was rather spendthrift, and someone would be bound to turn round and say “you’re just being greedy; you don’t need that!” But no one did. Mum has bought the occasional painting herself, along with some artistic needlework (which some cat messed up) and fragile pottery which broke to pieces if you just picked it up.

There was another painting by the same artist which had a reserved sticker on it… at the desk they said it had been bagged by an old lady who had gone off to see if she could afford to buy it at all! Well I’m glad others like that style too — and I’m also glad that the one I liked best was the one they left for me.

6 responses

  1. I think that art that you enjoy that much should be kept for enjoyment for years to come. DOn’t feel bad about it.
    We only have one piece of “real” art, and although we felt a bit guilty after getting it, we both walked up to it and loved it the minute we saw it and could both picture exactly where we wanted it to be on our wall….and it is there. We still love it after a year of having it on our wall. I think that is the kind of art to have in your home 🙂

    1. It’s what makes home home. 🙂 I still love mine, but haven’t found the best place to hang it yet.

  2. Snap. I haven’t bought a piece of art since the early 80s and just recently went to an art sale (only because a friend had a few pieces up) and came out with a print on canvas of a local native bird on a bare branch (it’s all I could afford) I did feel guilty but I do like it. It goes well above the piano. I agree the art you should have on your walls is art that you fell in love with – it’s got to mean something to you.

    1. Great minds think alike (or spend alike)! I guess we only have one life, we might as well enjoy it to the full rather than be too scared to do something like buy a piece of art. 🙂

  3. Art is something you shouldn’t feel guilty about spending money on. Good art is worth it because it lifts the spirits.

    1. Thanks, Timorous — when people say that art and so on is just a waste of time and resources, they should be pointed to your comment here. There’s nothing more depressing than surroundings that are dark, plain, all the wrong colours etc.

Leave a Reply

