Bang

Lovely. We were watching Miss Marple and I was nearly down to the bottom of my glass of white wine when I noticed something. “Did you put anything in the wine?” I said.

“What?” Mum said, looking as though she was going to burst out laughing. “No!…?”

“Well,” I said, “this is either broken glass, or it’s crystallized sugar.”

The glass wasn’t chipped. Nor was the bottle. Mum had finished all of her wine, and there was just a drip left in the bottle. She decided the glass had been in the wine all along. Where’s Miss Marple when you need her?

“We can’t do anything about it,” said Mum. “I won the wine in a raffle, so there’s no taking it back to the shop.”

Anyway, we finished watching Miss Marple, then I went upstairs and deleted 500 MB of defunct volcano files from the computers. (The ‘in between’ stages and editions that didn’t work). After that, I started on my blog post about Hammy the Squirrel and SlartibartfastStop the Cavalry by Jona Lewie was on iTunes.

There was a terrible thud. I leapt up from my chair and rushed downstairs, and Mum was sitting in the armchair, pointing at the window. “It’s fireworks,” she said.
“FIREworks?? I HEARD that one! I thought something had come down with a thud.”
“Like what? Like me?”
“I thought maybe the broken glass had got to you!”
Mum laughed and clutched her stomach.

It must have been right over the house.”
“The whole house shook,” said Mum.
I stared at the ceiling, and sighed. “It shouldn’t be allowed,” I said, feeling that it wasn’t a strong enough statement in the circumstances. But who’s around to hear me ranting and raving?

Leave a Reply

