Achy Breaky Fingers

My fingers have a tendency to bruise if I do something like turn a door handle a little too carelessly. It’s not even a light, self-contained bruise — the main blood vein gets nicked, so you feel a hot pain, then cornflower blue starts streaking up the finger, and next thing you know the entire finger turns a tasteful zombie grey and is too stiff to bend.

You can’t possibly be any more squeamish than I am about it… I hate it! I was in the middle of trying on clothes when it last happened, and I went back downstairs and sat down. Mum looked surprised and said “is the show over?”
“Temporary halt,” I said.

A couple of days later I made the mistake of picking up a heavy pan, and hurt my finger all over again, so I was looking for a padded finger protector in the shops. It was more to remind me not to grab things too hard! I couldn’t find what I was looking for, but I was standing in the middle of Boots today, saying “I just want something to remind me to be careful,” and Mum said “you should put a notice on it saying ‘DO NOT USE THIS FINGER.'”

Har har.

2 responses

  1. Because I work in the lab and by training I get all precise when I have lab gloves on (usually because I have to) I find that having a box of nitrile gloves at home to put on when doing tricky (or messy) things helps me pay better attention.

    Not sure what to say about the bruising tho. You could beat me about with a bat and I wouldn’t have the slightest mark, so I can’t really offer any advise in that regard…

    1. I wouldn’t use a bat on you… apart from anything else, wielding it would probably bruise all my fingers at once. 🙂 As for protecting my fingers, I was thinking of digging out my winter gloves, but I could see that getting old pretty quickly…..

Leave a Reply

