The Book Habit

I’m finding my current book habit hard to shake!

Just finished:
Tolkien and the Critics: essays on J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘Lord of the Rings’ (ed Neil D Isaacs and Rose A Zimbardo)
Might write about that later. The book was dirty… some of the stains looked as though they were older than my big sister (and probably very nearly were).

Currently reading:
The Memoirs of Cleopatra (by Margaret George) [I’m on the home straight!]
My Dear Cassandra: The Illustrated Letters of Jane Austen (intro and ed by Penelope Hughes-Hallett & Elizabeth Drury) [It’s sitting beside my bed… currently overtaken by the following book…]
Under Brinkie’s Brae (by George Mackay Brown) [He was writing these little snippets back in the 70s, and comes out with some real gems. Like when they finally got three TV channels in Orkney (having had only BBC1 up till then), and he realized it was still just the beginning. He wonders if the increase in technology might not make for ‘colder social relations’ in the future].
Starbucked (by Taylor Clark) [It was in a charity shop. I don’t like Starbucks coffee (flavoured foam), but I like the couches. Figured I might as well read the book. :-)]

Book Wishlist:
Mistakes Were Made (but Not by Me)
Procrastination: Why You Do It, What to Do About It
The Now Habit [Unfortunately doesn’t seem to be available from the UK book shops just now, but it seems to be one of the more popular books on procrastination].
Watching the English: The Hidden Rules of English Behaviour [At last I will be able to figure some of you out. 😀 ]

Was going to have a list of books waiting their turn to be read, but if I’m going to be listing them in the future as books I am reading or have read, that could easily turn a bit repetitive.

Off to bed to pick up Under Brinkie’s Brae again… it has sobering stories of women of long ago, such as Betty Corrigall with her outcast’s grave.

4 responses

  1. I started reading the ‘now habit’ a while ago, I still haven’t finished it ;0).

    1. LOL! that sounds like me with War and Peace… I hope The Now Habit isn’t another version of it!

  2. “At last I will be able to figure some of you out.”

    Never! We’re inscrutable, I tell you!

    1. Hmm, we’ll see… Amazon was amazingly speedy with my last order, so ‘Watching the English’ could be here in a couple of days if I ordered it tonight! Heh heh.

Leave a Reply

