Lost Tuesday

On Tuesday I shuffled furniture around, washed cat pee off plastic storage boxes, muttered crossly. Then got tired and watched Monk, followed by Charades (Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn). Wasn’t thrilled by either. Monk was about a deaf lipreader who was the villain (having stumbled across certain secrets by lipreading through a window). Even while understanding that a good story is a good story, you get tired of certain stereotypes!

Monk and his friends have a horrible habit of giving their suspicions away to the bad guys. They never steal a march for long, having loud conversations while the bad guy is a few paces away, and I always feel like giving them a notepad and pen and telling them to write it all down. It’s more discreet.

We also watched Lost Land of the Volcano. I was reluctant, as for some reason I’m not fond of wildlife documentaries — and I’m particularly not fond of documentaries of film crews bravely battling against nature and the elements in order to make these documentaries. I’m sure if I was there, I’d be exclaiming all the time “it’s so wet, muddy, dark and full of strange night noises!”… but you can’t engage with others saying the same when you’re sitting on your comfortable chair waiting for the footage of woolly rats.

Anyway, Mum says we’re not going to York next time we go on holiday — we’re going to the Lost Land of the Volcano to cuddle those rats for ourselves. Knowing my luck, I’d see too many of those big black spiders along the way, baring their dripping fangs in my direction. One wouldn’t need special lipreading skills to understand that.

Felt very good today… no agoraphobia in the streets. I was a little nervous in the Argos queue, though, and when the girl checked with me what I was buying (one Seagate hard drive and a pack of blank DVDs) I couldn’t hear her. She could have been saying “our biggest wardobe and some aftershave” for all I knew.

If I ruled the world, you know what I would do… make communication more visual. 🙂

5 responses

  1. I love losing days watching tv/ It happens to me occasionally on a Sunday. I get up really early, naturally and I tend to do my house work, prepare dinner, get the ironing out of the way… that means I can spend the rest of the day surfing the channels. I tend to watch ol Ghost Whisperer programmes and Extreme Makeover Home Edition, mixed with a bit of Miami Ink and Ice Road truckers! hehe
    So glad you had a good day out and about.. Visual communication would help so much wouldn’t it.

  2. Well, if you have your heart set on cuddling rats, they have those in New York, too… 😉

  3. Thomas, I wonder if the New York rats are so tame, though. 😀

    Daffy, that sounds a great plan, and I bet it’s nice to settle down and relax when everything’s done and the house is spick and span… trouble with getting up early here is that I would wake Mum and she would be annoyed about it, so I tend to spend early morning hours doing something quiet… like staying in my bed and reading. 😉

  4. I think people would be more polite if you had to write it down…I know I would. Just the act of writing something permenantly on a page would make me be nicer…

    1. It’s a thought. 🙂 I’ve found some people refuse to write at all, though it’s hard say why. Perhaps they weren’t saying anything important enough to write down…

Leave a Reply

