Yyyyaarrrgh

Well… I’ve sleepily accepted everything that dentist has thrown at me over the years… fillings, tooth removal, a root canal, X-rays, scraping, drilling, polishing, extortionate fees… but today she did something that nearly caused me to run screaming from the chair.

She flossed my teeth.

I was hoping to find something online that indicates flossing is bad for you, but I can’t find anything. It appears to be a worldwide religion (which struck me as strange, as most issues have ‘fors’ and ‘againsts’). In amongst all the usual sensible advice,  I’ve read some odder claims (perhaps it’s the ministry of misinformation at work again); for example, that the real purpose of flossing is to harden one’s gums against disease; and that they haven’t proven that flossing is so necessary, because it would be unethical to ask one group to not floss. (I would like to believe that, but that’s taking me too far into the twilight zone). Also the claim that even if flossing hurts our gums, we must ignore it and press on…

I don’t know. All I know is that if dentist does it again, I’ll pull the roof down.

9 responses

  1. Haha – you too, eh? The hygienist who attacked my teeth said that flossing won’t get rid of the hard tartar build-up (which is likely to occur regardless). I have to admit to basically never flossing my teeth – only when there’s a stubborn bit of food I can’t get out with tongue or fingers.

  2. I think if flossing was the miracle cure it’s said to be, people would need less attention by dentists. 🙂 I see it as a possible threat to the health of the gums. I could be wrong or right, or perhaps there’s no one straightforward answer…

  3. I’ve heard a WaterPic is just as effective.

    I started flossing late in life, and I think it has made a difference.

  4. Hi Thomas, glad to see you around. 🙂

  5. I started flossing around age 30, my gums have never been the same—they are now torn down, never to grow back I’m told (I have only had 2 cavities my entire life, my 81yr old mom has her own teeth and she never flossed.) it keeps mouth healthy…really? My hands can’t handle the floss anymore so a wonderful, old, dentist told me to just shove a rubber pick in my gums between teeth…so far so good.

    1. Hi Diane, thanks for popping in! Seems you share my concerns; perhaps our gums are less forgiving of floss for some reason. I don’t think my dentist quite knew where my gums were! Yow.

      I have a toothbrush with long bristles which can slip between the teeth to a degree, so perhaps that helps too.

      1. The dental hygienist gave me some mini brushes to use in the gaps between teeth.

  6. pah…floss. I think it’s supposed to help keep your gums healthy but for people like me who have always had bad gums and weak tooth enamel it’s just a painful annoying thing…
    I’m just going for brushing…I have to see the dentist for the first time in years (me? scared of dentists?). I’m prepping for the floss more talk…again…

  7. Good luck. 🙂
    I suppose I’m lucky in a way, as the dentist would have to write her ‘floss more’ talk down, and she’s too hurried for that! Heh.

Leave a Reply

