Thrisis: dread of the future

Was sitting in the café a couple of days ago, reading this article in The Independent: Thrisis’ management: How to survive a thirtysomething crisis. I’m in my 40s, not my 30s, but could see myself reading this book out of curiosity.

What made me sit up is this line: ‘A thrisis… isn’t about regret but about “looking forward and thinking, ‘I don’t want the next 30 years to look like this.'”‘ I can remember feeling that way in the office (the one that was eventually thrown away by a bigger business as part of a cost-cutting exercise, but we won’t get into that!)

Remembering that state of mind… how I wasn’t even happy in that job, and all I could see ahead of me was more of the same (till I fell off my perch in my lonely old age) reminds me how much better my life is now in some respects. The job part of it has gone, and will not figure in my future landscape of doom and gloom… LOL.

Have you ever felt that way?

7 responses

  1. So mine is called a twisis? It makes me sound like Jonathan Ross on a bad day.

  2. There is a crisis at my age, as well. Does that mean I’m having a sixthsis? It doesn’t have to do with what one will be doing in thirty years. It has to do with the hope that one can still be doing something tomorrow, lol.

    I did have that thirty-something crisis. I went to college and got a divorce. Was worried every day after that. Ahhh, maybe that’s why I’m so tired now. Was in some sort of crisis for most of those thirty years of which you speak. Which is to say that your blog has brought up a very good point, judging from the comments. Every decade brings with it, new concerns and yes new crises.

    Elizabeth

  3. There have been two moments in my life when things changed abruptly and dramatically for me, once in my twenties and once in my thirties, but I think that was just coincidence.

    I don’t think I’ve ever had the traditional “mid life crisis.” I don’t think hippies get those.

    Overall, my mental and spiritual state gets better and better with each passing year. It’s a shame my physical state is falling apart. 😉

  4. I wonder if maybe people are just generally jaded, and the crises, I suppose are flash points where you realize things are changing/have changed, and you’ll never again be 20, 30, 40, or whatever. Mum suggests that people need to do something every day that makes them feel they’ve done something worthwhile… and the average job doesn’t count. I’ve a feeling something like this is covered in the thrisis book, which I ordered from Amazon.

  5. I don’t know if it necessary to do something “worthwhile” every single day, but certainly regularly. Do something that takes a bit of effort, or that you really enjoy, or that is not that great for you but brilliant for someone else. I don’t get age-related crises, but do of course, get the, “What the fuck am I doing?” moments, especially when there’s a big change in my life. Or maybe more often when there hasn’t been a change for a while. I think we need a good balance between predictability and spontaneity.

  6. I feel like that every time I step out of my comfort zone… LOL. Like a mouse going out of its burrow in daylight.

Leave a Reply

