A Violent Vegetable

Seems I’m not the only one having quiet spells all over the place… I was silent on dA for months, and then finally went in to go through my backlog of messages. Several people were saying that they and others have been going through the same thing — maybe it had something to do with the time of year! Though mostly it was because they felt overwhelmed. I said I didn’t want to post anything till I’d caught up with everyone else’s (currently over 600 pictures), and someone said to go ahead and post any time I wanted to, as barriers exist to be overcome.

I’ve never heard that said before, and it was strangely encouraging! I know that the longer you leave something, the harder it can be to get back in the swing… though a short break can be a good thing as well.

I was going to post the following on my blog, and then I wasn’t. Then I was… then I wasn’t.  Then I said to myself “barriers exist to be overcome!” So here goes…

I asked Mum if she’d ever been bitten by an onion, and she stared at me and said, “no…?!”
I told her I had one of those huge onions and was pulling off the shiny onion skin, and the bottom spiky bit of the onion sank a splinter into my index finger. That hurt!

Mum said, “you’re always such a groke! These things always happen to you.”
“Have you never been bitten by an onion?”
“No — never!”

Funny — I’ve a feeling it’s happened to me before.

I also have a feeling Samson and Delilah have turned something loose under the bureau, and forgotten about it.

7 responses

  1. You mean… Attack of the Killer Tomatoes got it wrong?

  2. About overcoming barriers? 😀

  3. Onions don’t bite me, they sting. And barriers also exist to create a simple and easy means of avoidance. Like the one I am fast creating for a certain Paint Program now downloaded onto my computer. It flashes me each time my desktop appears (looks like its winking), but I catch my breath and tell it I’m really busy and might be back later. And that goes double when I hear the word tutorial, lol.

    I will, I really will, I promise.

    Elizabeth, about to go try to find a beginner’s beginning turtorial.

  4. When you say onions sting you, do you mean stinging eyes, or do you get splinters as well? Tutorials sound like going back to school but the beginner ones can be worth it, and the more advanced ones can be fun to follow. But it’s all for fun, so if you’re not enjoying yourself, put it aside for a rainy day. 😉

  5. As the clumsmaster, I have injured myself with a piece of soft rubber tubing, a stick of cinnamon…even an apple stem.
    I feel your oniony pain…:)

  6. The full list of odd things people have injured themselves with could be quite interesting. Such as cuts from that tough plastic shell some items are sold in (that one’s not surprising, actually!)

  7. Oh, so that’s why people cry when the peel onions…

Leave a Reply

