Grumpy Christmas Past

Small gusty snow scene at night

I hope you all enjoyed Christmas and are looking forward to the new year! (Why do we have to put these words in capital letters? I don’t just want you to have a Happy New Year’s Celebration, I want you to have a happy all-of 2009).

Christmas Chez Diddums was very boring. I had a weevily headache all day because I spent the last two days doing housework I should have done a week earlier. On Christmas Day we watched The Golden Compass on DVD (my turkey went cold while I was struggling to remove the DVD from its case)… I thought I would enjoy it, but I hated it. I didn’t like the book either.

Mum broke my cafetiere in the morning by dropping a mug on it, so I had no coffee to alleviate my headache, and got a bit snappish.

Samson received a cat water fountain from my sister. I welcomed it with cries of joy, as he asks us to turn the tap on for him every ten minutes. She also gave him a reflective cat collar, which he is much less keen on.

I gave Mum Chanel No 5 and CK One (the first because she loves it, and the second as a trendy surprise). I said if she didn’t want the CK One, I would trade it in for something she liked better… but she said she liked it, and sprayed it generously on herself and on one of my bears, after which I wasn’t sure if I liked it myself any more. Nobody gave me any Jennifer Lopez perfume, and I see it’s gone up in price again.

I didn’t write any Christmas cards, except for neighbours and immediate family! That wasn’t intentional; it was pure disorganization. Many thanks to those better-organized friends who sent me cards despite my lapse; I loved the small one with a comical ginger cat face, which Mum grabbed and attached near the door as a decoration. You who sent it, you know who you are (unless you’ve already forgotten and think you sent a robin in the snow instead. That would be understandable, at our advanced grumpy old age).

I will try to do better next year.

3 responses

  1. There is nothing wrong with not sending out Christmas cards for a few years at a time even! My mom hasnt sent a Chritmas card out in maybe 3 years and she STILL got over 100 cards this year.

  2. My Christmas was quiet but pleasant. My oldest daughter was here and we made home made pasties for dinner. Then my younger sister came with my Mom for a short visit and to wish us a good day. We did much more visiting since then. I didn’t send out any cards, but I did make a few gifts for some special people in my life.

    I wish you all the best in the coming year, and I’m glad you are back on, have missed reading you,

    Elizabeth

  3. That sounds a lovely day… I hope to have more time to get into the blogging/blog-reading once the festivities have blown over (here we’re still planning dinners and visits), but I didn’t forget anyone while I was keeping quiet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

