It’s Still Rock ‘n’ Roll to Me

This morning Delilah (my small red cat) came and bounced about on my bed, and, though I was still half asleep, what came into my head was: “Let’s go fly a kite, up where the moon is bright; O, let’s go fly a kite!” [Misquotation of a verse from Mary Poppins].

The vinyl singles I picked up yesterday (some crackers among them):

From Sue Ryder’s:

Big Love (Fleetwood Mac)
Don’t Cry for Me Argentina (The Shadows)
Genetic Engineering (OMD)
The Tide is High (Blondie) … I played this one loud!

From The Awfully Nice Boy’s shop:

All Out of Love (Air Supply)
An Innocent Man (Billy Joel)
It’s Still Rock and Roll to Me (Billy Joel)
My Simple Heart (The Three Degrees)
Spanish Flea (Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass Band)
The Winner Takes it All (Abba) (one of the first songs I played again after we lost my father — and so I associate it with that, now)

All Out of Love brings back memories… I had an thing at university with a lad from Singapore. When he left, he told me to keep a bundle of tapes as he couldn’t pack everything when going home. The Air Supply was among them, and I also have a lot of Chinese tapes. I grew to like a number of them, including Anna Ling, but I found others didn’t share my liking. A shame. There’s a splendid, almost operatic tape by some guy, possibly Malaysian… I never figured out who he was, but I know one of the songs goes ‘wo ai ni…’

There are some lovely ‘wo ai ni’ songs in YouTube but they don’t sound quite the same.


Who is he?

4 responses

  1. It amazes me. Seven out of the eleven you listed are favorites of mine. But, Herb Alpert and the Tijauna Brass? I didn’t think anyone but me even remembered. I start smiling the moment I hear that music.

    Elizabeth

  2. With the exception of 2 – they’re all familiar to me. And that includes Herb Alpert and the Tijaua Brass. I know what you mean about it making you smile Elizabeth 🙂

  3. Okay, this is really dating myself, but when I first purchased the Tijauna Brass, they were really new and I introduced my Mother to them. She still listens to them and her foot is tapping to the music, and she’s smiling all the while. Love it.

    Elizabeth

  4. With me, it was the other way around, and my mother got me a Herb Alpert tape as one of my first tapes ever. His ‘Zorba the Greek’ is my favourite… maybe I’ll find it amongst the singles.

    Some of the songs in that list are not all that well-known to me… I hadn’t heard of ‘An Innocent Man’, but the two Billy Joel singles were sitting together, and I hate splitting up pairs!

    ‘Genetic Engineering’ didn’t ring any bells (and still doesn’t), but OMD is a favourite group of mine. Same for ‘Big Love’ by Fleetwood Mac… I was trying to find a clip to link to, but there appeared to be different versions and I didn’t know which to link to! I wasn’t keen either way. But Fleetwood Mac is a sound that grows on you; I know that well.

Leave a Reply

