Away, You Rolling River

On Friday we were in the next town, and I bought two T-shirts from the men’s section of… er… some store. One was a black with shiny silver dragon pattern, and the other was a white with abstract brown pattern and pockets… Mum said “it’s got a hood!” and I said “I know.” It has short sleeves and is meant for indoors, but I suppose if I ever get the urge to lounge around on street corners, I now have something to look reasonably cool in. Or cold in, possibly.

The women’s things looked ratty, dark and depressing, and I just walked straight through that bit. I looked twice at some very soft, fleecy dressing gowns, but I knew they would crackle with static electricity. And how do I know that…?

Xeno PenWent to PC World and Staples, which were next door to each other. It amused me how PC World had a stationery section, and Staples had a computer section… you hardly knew which shop you were in. All I bought was my favourite packet of pens (Staples Xeno) — I use them a lot for the conversation notepad and my personal journal. They don’t last forever, but they come in attractive metallic colours (the pens, not the ink) and don’t blot horribly like some cheapies. Also, as they come in packs, they can be scattered throughout the house; saves you constantly hunting around for your one good-quality pen.

Certain people keep talking about computer games (though I try very hard not to be tempted), so I cast a quick eye over them in PC World… the one that caught my eye was Spore. It looks nice but is hardly getting rave reviews on Amazon. Anybody tried it? That DRM thingie does sound off-putting… big time.

Had the following conversation in the notepad over coffee:

Me: “I’ve had O Shenandoah in my head for three days.”
Mum: “My mother used to sing that endlessly. That and Mamma’s Little Baby Loves Shortening Bread. Maybe you have a ghost in your head. It would explain a lot.”
“I’ve not heard of that one?”
“If Granny knew I was irritated by a song she sang it all the more.”

Here’s a YouTube clip of it by Harry Belafonte. One of my very first tapes was a Harry Belafonte. πŸ™‚
If you were passing my room at university, you might sometimes have heard it.

O Shenandoah, I long to see you
Away, you rolling river
O Shenandoah, I long to see you
Away I’m bound to go ‘cross the wide Missouri

12 responses

  1. Used to sing Shenandoah, in the car, so my kids would go to sleep on the way to Grandma’s house. And Harry Belafonte was always a favorite, my kids knew all the lyrics to most of his songs. So much so, that when a guest at a wedding sang out “Deo, Deeo,” we all (five of us), finished the chorus, including my son, the groom. We got a standing ovation from his wedding guests.

    You bring back good, good memories. Thank You,

    Elizabeth

  2. What, you bought nothing for me? You never know when that hoodie might come in handy. πŸ™‚

  3. I wonder, if all adults bought hoodies and hung around on street corners, would teenagers decide it was completely naff and stay at home instead.

  4. Ah, more Harry Belafonte fans! He’s such a good singer. That Banana Boat Song was the best… I think it’s been used in a TV commercial (maybe two or more). I wish I had been there to see your family sing it at the wedding.

    Rose, I’ll look for a T-shirt with a dozen long-stemmed roses on it next time I’m there. πŸ™‚ Maybe it would have a hood too.

    I bet they would, Kate… in fact I’m sure of it. πŸ™‚

    I’ve not worn them yet… I like to keep things being new for a while before using them.

  5. I used to sing (okay I sang for 16 years) and I live in Virginia and went to university in the Shenandoah mountains. I have sung that song more times than I can count (that and “Sleigh Ride”). Every new choir master seemed to think they were original in having us sing them. To this day you say the first line of “Shenandoah” and I have a choir start in my head complete with sheet music.

    As for “Sleigh Ride,” I change the radio station every time it come on.

  6. I can’t bring Sleigh Ride to mind, but maybe I would recognize it if I heard it. Shenandoah definitely sticks around though, doesn’t it!

  7. Ahhh… thank you. πŸ™‚ That’s one to play on Christmas Day!

  8. I used to love the song “Shenandoah”. I think it was a “must” if you were at Camp when I was a child. I always thought it was so beautiful.
    So glad Karin put the link in here to YouTube. I took a little holiday real quick in between writing my comment. I grew up to Johnny Mathis Christmas. The poor BF is trying to watch football and I’m over here w/my headphones on singing Christmas Carols. LOL

  9. Christmas carols win over football any day, LOL. πŸ™‚

  10. “Certain people”, eh?

    Spore’s supposed to be good – it got a bit of a lukewarm reception among the TIGSource forumites, but that might be more a matter of taste. One thing I’d mention is you probably need a brand-name video card to run it (GeForce or the like). Don’t ever fall into the trap of think that just because you have a PC you can play PC games – that would be too sensible a kind of business for them to run. You know, *accessible*. πŸ˜›

    Not getting it myself due to the DRM, though. I still like to play games years after I play them, and I was gutted to find that I’d bought a another game from the same publisher with the same restrictions. >:-|

  11. It looks fun… but like you, I would want to feel I could go back to it, or put it on a new computer if the old one broke down. Seems very restrictive.

Leave a Reply

