Rolling out the New Blogrolls

I reorganized my blogroll both here and on the emergency blogspot – I hope I didn’t leave anyone off by accident. Mostly I added sites; removed a few links which weren’t going anywhere any more, but on the whole my blogrolls are longer!

I blame KateBlogs from Itisi! It all started when I noticed her new-look blogroll showing the title of each blogger’s latest post. Which I wanted to do too. So. I’ve organized my Blogspot blogroll so that the most recently updated appear at the top along with the time. For example:

BBC NEWS Peston’s Picks
Now there are runs on countries
2 hours ago

Space Cat Rocket Ship
Springtime on Saturn
1 day ago

Mel’s Photoshop Brushes
Making perfect repeat patterns in Photoshop
1 day ago

Stephen Fry
A suitcase of cables
5 days ago

…etc. A pity I can’t do that here on WordPress. 🙂

Something else I did that I’m dying to bore my readers with – see the small triangular tab next to ‘About’ in the header bar? Jolly the Trolley deserved his own page, don’t you think? I gathered together all the links concerning him, and listed them there with a photo. This was an interesting exercise as there were a couple of posts I forgot about… when he was still just a small grey wheelie bag.

Nostalgic sigh.

5 responses

  1. Yay! A page for Jolly, he deserves it.

    Glad you like the blogroll. It seems quite popular, I’ve noticed a lot more people are using it. I suppose seeing a title gives them some idea of what to expect. It is a shame we can’t do that here . . . unless, I wonder if you could do it using delicious. Hang on, I’ll have a look. Back again – no, I don’t think you can. I’m sure there must be a way though, I’ll have a think about it and get back to you.

  2. Hi, Well, I’ve done it… I’ve signed up… You up for this? You gonna be my writing buddy?
    :o)
    We can do this! One month!
    daffy1 if you want to add me when and if you sign up!

  3. Thanks Kate. 🙂 I’m not sure that I would be allowed to add code of my own as I’m one of the freebie users… ahem. I was able to customize the current theme colours because the feature is built in for us, but I wasn’t able to do anything at all with the last theme I used.

    Hi Daffy, this is exciting! Absolutely I’ll be your writing buddy… I just have a monolith to move (see Kate’s On Writing and Design in my blogroll), and then I promised myself I would sign up. Gah, I hate moving monoliths. Sigh.

  4. The changes look good.

  5. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

