Lost and Vague

I have a horrible habit of putting my washing in the washing machine, checking the dials are right, closing the door…. and walking away. No washing powder in the tray, no pressing the ‘on’ button to get it started. I don’t know why I keep doing that. Too busy thinking about what I’m going to do next, maybe.

Another thing I do is turn the hot tap (of either the bath or the bathroom hand basin), and then walk away, having turned it full on when I meant to turn it off. This time it’s because they have designed it so that the cold tap turns one way and the hot tap turns the other. I’m used to them turning the same way, and I don’t hear that the water is still running, so I just absently twist the tap and walk away.

Sometimes I scald my hands when I was trying to turn it off but turn it up by accident. Those taps apparently won an award, but they don’t deserve it in my opinion.

A few BBC news articles I came across today:

Magpie can ‘recognise reflection’

Does disability hate crime exist?

An ailing brain with imagination undimmed (Terry Pratchett… because he can still speak coherently, people refuse to believe he’s ill).

Good speech is never proof of health, intelligence, mental strength or physical strength (nor is bad speech). By the way, I met a rock hyrax once. It came and sat in our little hut, and stared at us.

3 responses

  1. I have a habit of switching kettles on whenever I walk past them. I don’t mind whose they are and I don’t ever seem to have any intention of making tea. I like to think of it as my quirk. It makes me more interesting. Or as my husband puts it.. it proves I’m barking mad and may have OCD tendancies.
    Hey, thanks for the help last night. I’ve gone for Google reader and it’s working a treat. I now know you did this entry five hours ago! How clever is that. :o)

  2. Brilliant news. 🙂 I’m glad Google Reader is up and running. I was quite surprised some time ago when I went to set it up as my backup… as I have a Google/Blogger password, I already had it! All I had to do was add the blog feeds.

    Ah, I have kettle habits too; mine is to pour out any cold water to put fresh water in… sometimes I find it was still quite hot as someone else has very recently boiled it. 🙂

  3. I feel for Mr. Pratchett. The stages of Alzheimer’s come on and on, no matter what. I look back just a couple of years and feel the sorrow of inevitability.

    Thanks for sharing! I wish him well.

    Sadly,
    Shu

Leave a Reply

