Marriage

There is an interesting discussion on Chani’s blog (Finding My Way Home) about marriage. It is a subject I’ve thought about a lot recently, not because I ever intend to get married, but because I’ve been trying to figure out where my life comes in relation to all these married folks. It’s easy to feel dismissed, not least in small details such as duvet covers… 😯

Here also is an interesting ‘point of view’ article: How should the end come?… we have concentrated our energies so much on good health and saving lives that, wonderful though it is to see our families survive and continue to survive, our resources are being stretched and not all of our expectations fulfilled.

7 responses

  1. Personally, I think marriage is a vestigial relic of a long gone and best forgotten era.

    As for death, I agree with Sam Kinison: “Don’t be a life pig- when it’s your time, get in the box.” I did a post a while back about how I intended to go at a time of my own choosing, at a place I had already picked out, and man, it freaked out everybody. I guess death is supposed to be a surprise.

    (I’ve discovered I’m firmly in the minority on both issues.)

  2. (Wow, the italics sure jumped the fence and ran wild there. Sorry about that.)

  3. I remember that. :O)
    Whatever we do, we stand a good chance of doing the wrong thing. The only thing that’s always going to be a bad thing (however we get there) is overpopulation.

  4. as to duvets? get a double bed! I like the extra room anyway

  5. I’d like to find a companion, I have to say, not least because I start to despair of being the one person in the world who’s ‘like me’. I also think there’s something to be said for a legal recognition of people who are close to one another, in case emergency or tragedy strikes.

    But the idea of placing social or religious importance on something fabricated around a relationship (rather than on the actual unique qualities of said relationship) seems questionable to me at best.

  6. I’m kind of like Pete in some ways. I would like to have a companion but I’m not willing to suck up the cultural expectations that might be imposed on me to have it. Perhaps one day I’ll find someone who thinks the way I do. (Yep, that should happen any lifetime now! 🙂

    ~*

  7. ‘Any lifetime now,’ that made me chuckle; I suppose I feel like that too… if someone came along who seemed to understand where I was coming from and we worked well together; well, that would be nice. But I don’t see it happening any time soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

