I Think it’s Going to Rain Today

“I think it’s going to rain today” by UB40. It wouldn’t surprise me if I’ve already used that as a blog post title. It’s an old favourite.

Broken windows and empty hallways
Pale dead moon in a sky streaked with grey
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

There was a bumblebee crawling around (another one I decided was a ‘he’) and I put it on the lilac tree. It got a good grip on it and moved around, and I went inside. Hours later (starting to get dark) I thought of looking to see how it was doing; if it was still there, and it was… still clinging on, wings neatly folded… very still, except for the movement of the flower tossing in the breeze.

I considered taking it down off the tree but decided if I was a dying bee, a lilac flower would be the best place to slip away.

Feeling very sad. One little motherless bee; one huge big cold rainy gusty world. Sigh.

3 responses

  1. Ah, if the bee was still there, holding on, it was hunkering down, conserving energy, and waiting for a bit of sun to fly off into. Your kindness gave him his chance 🙂

    Admiringly,
    Shu

  2. That’s a nice thought. 🙂 Wish it wouldn’t rain quite so much, though I prefer this to the summer when the duck pond nearly dried up.

  3. […] a sadder note, I slipped out to see if the bee was still there, and he had fallen off the flower to the ground. Definitely slipped away now. […]

Leave a Reply

