Up Bright and Early

It’s 4 a.m. and I can’t sleep. that’s nothing new. I think the house is keeping me awake… plus, I’m hot.

The last couple of nights there have been some power vibrations (there’s a cubby hole next to the room containing a tank, which is right alongside my bed. Lots of pipes and so on). I was dropping off to sleep, warm and fuzzy, and jerked awake for no obvious reason. You know – wide awake and staring. why? Didn’t sense anything really, but I knew there’d been something. Some low, low buzz or shudder running through the house.

There’s no point complaining – there’s nowhere else to sleep. I wasn’t able to sleep in my old house: same problem. Buzz buzz clank clank. It wasn’t much better on holiday in England. I doubt if I can sleep in any modern building… too full of cranky plumbing and wiring. Cheap throwaway housing for a burgeoning population. Time I moved to a cave…

2 responses

  1. I can sleep anywhere!!

  2. Lucky you. 🙂 I’ve had some better nights recently, though. I suppose the house hummings bother me more at some times than others.

Leave a Reply

