Pondering

big clumsy watermark that says copyright 2008 diddumsI’ve been looking at watermarking my images. I studied one site that looked interesting, but probably isn’t worth it for a cash-strapped amateur. The watermarking plugin was ‘free’, which seemed strange… I wasn’t altogether surprised to find (on reading the terms) that it only works if you take out the subscription.

So… NOT free. Not particularly direct either… verbal tricks of that sort make me think twice about buying.

I can make my own little watermarks without paying anyone, but do they work as well? No little box would pop up with the artist’s information. The surest way of protecting work is not to put it on the internet, but where’s the fun in that?

Meanwhile I just sign things with a URL where I can be found (mental note, must not abandon my ID on these sites), and my most favourite pictures aren’t going anywhere… they rest at home with me.

3 responses

  1. I never encountered or even considered that problem.

  2. Hmmm…the thing is, with photoshop, if anyone really wanted to take your image they would and take out the watermark. I think if anyone really wants to steal your image they will…unfortunately. If it’s a matter of linking your ID to the picture, a watermark seems like a practical way to do it…but would a signature suffice?

    You see, I’m not very solid on an opinion on this topic – so as long as you don’t mind that someone like me might take the odd image to make wine labels or a screensaver, I wouldn’t worry too much about it. I think taking someones image and changing it to something different is half the fun of digital art – perhaps they’d do a “homage to Diddums” and you’d be duly impressed :). If they didn’t acknowledge you they are silly and childish and deserved to be pointed at and raspberried at profusely by all of us.

  3. Yes, I like the whole ‘sharing, learning, talking’ atmosphere of it, though when you’re immersed in it, you keep coming across articles and posts that make you feel like a bad parent for failing to protect your ‘children’ (the artwork). I had just come from such an article. I do do the signature thing; it at least reminds people where to come if they want more wallpapers along the same vein.

    There’s also talk about some bill in America that plans to scoop up ‘orphaned’ work with no obvious ownership… it strikes me if you can at least make it clear that something belongs to you, it’s a good thing.

    Maybe sales of watermarking software will go through the roof. 🙂

Leave a Reply

