My Top Ten Animals from Film

This still isn’t the blog post I was planning, but when I found the TV Creature Survey by Pete from Thequacksoflife, I wondered which animal characters from film in general I would place as my top ten. This is my list (in order of importance):

  1. The Angry Beavers
  2. Scrat (from The Ice Age)
  3. Puss in Boots (from Shrek)
  4. Hammy the squirrel (from Over the Hedge)
  5. Sid the sloth (from The Ice Age)
  6. The Wombles (if I had to pick one, it would be Orinoco… or possibly Wellington)
  7. Salem (black cat from Sabrina the Witch)
  8. Kaa the python (from Disney’s The Jungle Book)
  9. The Pink Panther
  10. Black Beauty (from the old TV series)

I love Winnie the Pooh when safe between the covers of his book, but I can’t stand the TV versions… very dull. That’s why he’s not on this list.

I have a Disney print (a find from a charity shop, carefully attached to my cork board) of Shere Khan throttling Kaa with one lazy fist. You’d have to see it to appreciate the humour of their expressions, but I bought it because it reminded me of my relationship with my sister. Our Chinese Zodiac animals are Tiger (sister) and Snake (me).

Looking at it just now, I see a photo of Sharky on the board too – it has swung loose and slipped round to rest on top of Kaa in the picture… maybe he’s still trying to protect me!

7 responses

  1. I think I’d put the Winged Monkeys from the Wizard of Oz somewhere in my top ten, and probably one of the muppets- most likely Fozzie.

  2. Have you ever seen the meerkats on Meerkat Manor on the animal channel? I’m amazed by them.

  3. No, I’ll have to look out for those (meerkats). 🙂
    I was trying to think if I have a favourite Muppet. I’m not sure, but I have a mug with Animal on it, so maybe him. 🙂 Best to keep on his good side.

  4. 1. Donkey (Shrek)
    2. Puss in Boots (Shrek 2)
    3. Eeyore (Winnie the Pooh, for Pete’s sake!)
    4. Manfred (Ice Age)
    5. Sid (Ice Age)
    6. Timon (Lion King)
    7. Pumba (Lion King)
    8. Dora (Finding Nemo)
    9. Scrat (Ice Age)
    10. Mumble (Happy Feet)

  5. Gosh, I wish I could remember animals in film. I know there have been many that I loved, but having to name them has just taken me to a blank screen! Love the winged monkeys, too, and the Muppets… but surely there’s been a Scottie dog?
    Shu

  6. Eeyore’s a great choice. 🙂
    I don’t know the Lion King that well… will have to refresh my memory.
    The only Scottie I remember was the one in Star Trek. (Don’t you just hate the way things change and move on??)
    There’s a small dog called Toto in the Wizard of Oz but I don’t remember much about him. Just that it was amazing how he never put a foot wrong – he was always trotting in the right direction at the right time.

  7. […] 4: Disney print from The Jungle Book 1967. I bought it because it reminded me of my relationship with my sister. Which of us is which character, do you think? The answer is somewhere here. […]

Leave a Reply

