Sun, Sun, Sun, Here it Comes

It’s not quite the end of March and there are icy showers of hail aplenty, but my stress levels are already rising.

I have more problems in the warmer, brighter weather when people come out to enjoy the sun. I don’t look around and think “awk, look at all the people! I’m going home!” Usually what happens is that I set out to have the same kind of day that I had yesterday and the day before, and it’s only when I notice how troubled I feel that I realize there are more people around than usual. The increase would be marginal and I react to it before noticing on a more conscious level.

I felt quite bad today, and it’s only Friday – it felt more like a Saturday. I didn’t want to continue feeling that way, so I straightened up and looked around, thinking there must be something in the way I think that brings it on. It’s often what you can’t see that is so scary… if you are looking away and there are shadowy figures loping towards you, they could be anybody. But if you look directly at them, you see a harassed mother clutching her 6-year old; an elderly couple ambling around contentedly; a group of tall schoolchildren looking at nobody but themselves. They are no threat. But even as you glance at them, they move out of vision and other shadowy figures enter in.

I’m not afraid of them as people – not in any real sense. Sometimes I feel alien in their world as though not experiencing life the way they do, but as soon as I recognize them as fellow human beings with troubles of their own, my inadequacy dies away. It’s this initial lack of recognition that causes the problems. When I first start to stress out, I don’t shake, although a panic attack would be on the cards if I felt really trapped. I feel tight, tucked in, maybe a bit dizzy – and ill. I’m not sure I know what ‘sick building syndrome’ feels like, but if you put the word ‘people’ in there instead of ‘building,’ that’s what I imagine it would be like – though I’m probably way off course.

To get away from the bodies pressing round me, I withdraw more and more into myself. I’ve been accused of not seeing friends when they pass me on the road… “I waved and said hello and you didn’t see me”. That’s deliberate – that’s me trying to escape into myself. I have no intention of ignoring anybody, and if I do see you, I will smile back; relieved to see a face I know… but disassociation seems to be my way of keeping to what I’m doing or where I’m going without being thrown off course by the strangers around me.

The problem is, having withdrawn into yourself, you can’t withdraw any further; you’re still conscious of people, and would pull back even more if there was anywhere to go. That’s where the tight feeling of tension comes from, as though I’m leaning back into a wall and wishing it would let me through.

I decided there had to be a way of re-asserting my right to the spot I’m standing on. I’m too aware that others are challenging me for it – some humbly, others more aggressively. I’m constantly under the impression I have no right to standing room unless I’m alone. The only thing to do is to stand tall, take a deep breath, and look calmly but directly at the other people and at the area around me, and stop trying to escape when there’s nowhere to escape to.

It gives me a little breathing space, but I continue to feel ill – and I can never stop in one place for long because there’s always somebody trundling round a corner and bouncing off me.

Talking of what gives us balance – I’m a much steadier person when I have lots of time alone. It makes everything else seem like an adventure in comparison. If I experience too many such adventures, it becomes stressful… I’m usually much better after a few days at home, rather than going out day after day. It was like that when I was going to the skating rink… I was a fair and balanced skater for a few days after getting the hang of it, and then I lost my nerve, surrounded by other people wheeling crazily around. I stood at the side, gripping the handrail, and didn’t want to go back. I didn’t get better the more I tried… I got worse. I’m like that with lots of things. I don’t believe that ‘facing my fears’ and immersing myself in situations I dislike is to my benefit; it usually has the opposite effect.

I’m looking out at softly falling snow… it’s brighter weather, but not all that warm yet. The sun is coming, though. Oh yes, I can feel it, waiting with trembling anticipation behind its cloud. Nothing I can do will make it stay there.

8 responses

  1. Kaye and I much prefer cool weather to warm. Of course, the whole world seems to have the opposite view. The other day, she said to a neighbor, “It’s so warm today,” meaning “how awful,” but, of course, he replied, “Yeah, isn’t it great?”

    I know what you mean about wanting to acknowledge people but not get into a whole conversation . . .

  2. LOL… I like good weather but not when it means fighting bustle in town. A nice bright cool day is lovelier in its own way, and dark blustery rainy days are wonderful… though too many of them, end on end, can be depressing. If it means a quiet day in town then I’m not objecting, but it can often mean crowded coffee shops when everybody gets in out of the rain.

    I don’t deliberately ignore people I know; I mean I’m deliberately keeping closed in and not looking at anybody. If I realized there was somebody there I knew, I would look. Even so, you’re right about the conversation angle, I prefer to smile and wave, and move on. I don’t want to stop and talk about nothing in particular, especially in the middle of a moving crowd. 🙂

  3. shussmallworld | Reply

    I, too, know what you mean about people being ‘there’ but not readily ascertainable and thus disconcerting. I have trouble recognizing people and feel they must think I’m a terrible snob when I just don’t take them in. It can be a bit overwhelming. I’m such an INFP, I’d prefer not to have to deal with much of anyone if I didn’t have to. Sigh. Deep breaths, that’s all that helps me.
    Shu

  4. It’s been snowing here.

  5. You describe this exceptionally well.
    I too need lots of time alone.

  6. I’m with you on the bustling crowds. My husband is much more the agorophobe than I (as long as people are polite I can permit them), but yesterday I was quite miffed, as the weather was very nice for a holiday and I was dissapointed to see so many people out walking on “my” paths as we walked…part of why I think I love running in the morning is there’s very few people out at that hour. I have the river paths all to myself. I would find it better if I knew the people somehow- I get disconcerted at large groups of people all about doing their thing apart from me when I’m stuck in the midst of them. I’m much more calm when I can sit and watch the freeway bridge from my house and see the cars go by by the hundreds…all full of people with somewhere to be. I often wonder what they’re all doing, or if they’re just about the mundaneness of life. We often joke about taking our zombie medication before going out to crowded places.
    Today was much better tho – it’s been snowing fluffy flakes all day and there’s far less people out. I’m off for a walk I think 🙂

  7. I think very many bloggers must be INFP or similar. I’ve noticed that too, Geosomin… when the weather gets really nice, the places that were the quietest usually have a good handful or more of folk strolling around. I guess the only thing to do is go out really early in the morning; I expect you do anyway, but I’ve sometimes gone out quite early just to have quieter roads.

    Zombie medication! Reminds me that Mum got me herbal stuff in a bottle which was supposed to help; I don’t think I drank very much of it. I should probably throw it out now.

  8. […] of love and goodwill to all humankind, a possible factor is that phenomenon I mentioned in an earlier blog post: when I don’t do something very much, I glide through it with ease. If I was going to town […]

Leave a Reply

