Bloggers Under the Microscope

Found this on Blogs by Women: Are Bloggers Lacking Coping Skills?

The article draws our attention to recently published research on why people blog. If blogging is considered a coping skill in itself, isn’t that a bit of a contradiction? I wonder why something like that might be labelled merely a coping skill, whereas being the life and soul of the party is not? I have always said ‘how’ people communicate is never the issue.

I don’t deny that people do lack proper support and social networks; the larger the population and the more impersonal the system, the worse that whole situation becomes.

I see blogs as being educative; they open a door to a world I would never have known about if I hadn’t looked into it, even if I could have called myself one of the best balanced individuals in the world. Can one be truly balanced without having tried the various things within reach? Would someone who never read or blogged be considered better balanced because he/she loved to go out every night? Perhaps a balanced extrovert is not the same as a balanced introvert.

I feel myself on the verge of this whole ‘introverts versus extroverts’ thing again… I’m still hunting for an article on the continued survival of introverts, one that I enjoyed very much, but this one will fill the gap: Introverts of the World, Unite!

PS: I seem to have developed a nervous twitch since last night…

11 responses

  1. It seems intuitively accurate that those who blog are likely to spend more time at home in front of the computer (which suggests alone) than those who don’t. If one is out socializing, one may not have the time or inclination to blog. Blogging is also probably cathartic in some way, but I don’t think that means that bloggers have a greater need for catharsis; rather, they probably just happen to express themselves in that way. Others go to the gym, go to the pub, talk to someone or whatever. I don’t think bloggers are lacking coping skills (of course I don’t; I blog), but I do think they may be more likely to be “introverts”. And yeah, introverts unite! I’m there.

  2. Part of the reason I blog is to meet new people.

    I live in a bodaciously small town where there aren’t very many long-haired bearded anti-war Hare Krishna pro-ELF communists. The internet has let me meet people like myself, and has allowed me to meet people different than myself without those awkward first impressions.

  3. Oh, good grief. Everything people do could be described as a “coping skill,” couldn’t it? What people mean when they use phrases like “coping skill” is that people who are different ought to be normal. But, sure, I communicate with people more via the Internet than I do with my next-door neighbors. Partly that is because they didn’t find out what they were going to be living next to . . .

    Solitude is not a mortal sin, nor is it necessarily a psychiatric problem. When we were babies, I was the one who would sit in her playpen and happily entertain herself; my brother had to be able to see Mom or he would go into a screaming fit. People are different.

    I think it’s neat that I can talk about a woman in Scotland as if I know her. (I do talk to Kaye about my Internet activities — she hates computers, so if she’s going to know what I’m up to, I have to tell her.)

    I try not to worry about it.

  4. I’m an introvert and proud of it. But by god, I could do with a long-haired, bearded anti-war, Hare Krishna guy too! Anyway, what difference is it between blogging and writing a diary. Did anyone ever accuse people who wrote in a diary of doing so as a ‘coping skill’? How ludicrous. I blog because I enjoy it. Sometimes, certainly, it is cathartic and what’s wrong with that? We all need to express ourselves.

  5. I happily admit blogging is a bit of therapy. A place where I can say whatever is on my mind at the moment, with no repercussions and share ideas with a whole world of interesting people.
    I enjoy talking to people all over the world…I’m lousy at small talk, but online is much easier. As long as I get regular human interaction and don’t let it take over things I should be doing, I see no harm in it…:)

  6. “the continued survival of introverts”

    I thought introverts were becoming more common.

  7. […] you, diddums, for sharing the link about blogging and introverts through which I found the article […]

  8. Every time this whole ‘introvert’ versus ‘extrovert’ thing comes up, I’m reminded of a couple I knew… the wife was happy to stay home and potter about, but the husband got cabin fever before too long, and always had to be up and doing. I think what we had there was a marriage between an introvert and an extrovert, and it didn’t last very long.

    It was a pity, I thought. Maybe other couples with these issues are able to balance each other out better.

    Agree with you all, especially Geosomin… provided we don’t get sucked into the computer world too much, the online socializing and activities can be part of life’s balance.

    Pacian, the article I’m thinking of (I wish I could find it) was about how introverts have always walked this world along with the extroverts, and there’s a reason why we haven’t died out. An extrovert might rush off excitedly and get himself killed (or not), but an introvert will watch the situation and take his time. Both types of character have something valuable to offer.

  9. We introverts are finding out that the online/virtual world is ours for the taking. Not simply ‘resorting’ to what’s at hand, we recognize a tool that we can utilize for work, for social activity, for connection.

    The likelihood of remote work teams becoming more the norm puts us in a strategic spot for our professional futures. The introverted management style is exceptional for said environment; where the extroverted manager’s style may alienate remote staff. So: it will be an exciting few decades to see how our work world’s shift toward the introverted orientation.

    My blog (http://sydneyintrovert.livejournal.com/816.html) throws a little humor at the idea, and my site introvertbydesign.com is devoted to us: humor, sarcasm and serious resources. Thanks.

  10. I apologize for being so slow replying – your blog sounds interesting and I must check it out soon. I agree with you about remote work, which is advantageous in all sorts of ways… it would be a disaster if the internet failed, as is sometimes threatened. 🙂

  11. […] couple of days ago, Mum asked me why I was grinning. I told her I got a new comment on my ‘introvert bloggers’ post and was thinking about how disastrous it would be if the internet collapsed all of a sudden. […]

Leave a Reply

