Doing What I’m Told

Last night Mum put a ‘ready meal’ in the microwave oven. When I came downstairs I found she had left the kitchen, and the microwave was flashing the following message at me: “O.P.E.N. D.O.O.R. O.P.E.N. D.O.O.R. O.P.E.N. D.O.O.R.”

I opened the door, took the cooked dish out, and put it on the chopping board.

Mum came through and looked around, surprised. “Did YOU put that there?” pointing at the dish.
“Yes,” I said.
“Is it cooked?” she asked, frowning as though she couldn’t quite remember.
“Yes – the oven said to open the door, so I obeyed.”
“Oh.”

She put a second dish in the microwave, started it, then said, “Hmm. I could leave little notes round the house telling you to do things.”
“Notes only work if they flash,” I said.

6 responses

  1. There’s got to be a market for something like that.

  2. shussmallworld | Reply

    V.E.R.Y. F.U.N.N.Y.!!!! I love catching up with your doings.
    Shu

  3. I loved that because I live (for nearly 23 years now) with someone who puts notes up saying things like “Don’t let the cats out!!” and “Push the door all the way until it clicks!!” I keep telling her I feel like I’m in an asylum. And that the more notes she puts up, the less likely I am even to read them.

    P.S. What the heck’s up with the dots?

  4. I don’t think the microwave oven uses dots. It just trots the letters along so they fall off at the beginning, then starts again… and again…

  5. She will need to get a flashing sign. 🙂

  6. Don’t suggest it to her, she’d probably go shopping for one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

