Looking Back is Exactly Why History Repeats Itself

And it’s not what I mean
I mean it’s not what it seems
I just keep living for dreams
And it’s not what I mean
I mean it’s not what it seems
I just keep living for dreams

Have you ever played that game of reading back in your blog or diary to see what you were writing and thinking a whole year ago? I’m generally unlucky and find I wasn’t writing anything on a particular date, but today I found myself moving across a post from the old blog that I wrote exactly a year ago: It’s an Awful Long Way Down. In it I noted that I was writing a lot of rambling rubbish (I know – I was deleting most of it!) and then talked about a song in my head. “It will pass,” I said.

Well, unfortunately, it hasn’t. It’s a whole year later, and I’ve got the same song in my head that I had then.

People say we never learn from the lessons of the past, but I’ve got a new perspective on that now. Maybe it’s the looking back and stepping into old shoes that causes the same things to happen?

Leave a Reply

