The Kittens Led Me a Merry Dance

I’ve been tiptoeing around trying to get nice shots of the kittens without dazzling them with flash – it’s next to impossible.

Using a tripod, I was waiting for them to sit in their favourite spot (the printer by the window) but they gallivanted around all morning. At any point when they sat where I wanted them, they posed with their back to the camera, licking their unmentionables, then left again. Sometimes they would stay till I got up from my noisy creaky Staples computer chair, then they would get up and come over to the camera to see what I was doing.

Sigh

Having finally got them in position (though not till a huge cloud came over), I used good depth of field and no flash – and they were bound to move. Even if they seemed to be sleeping, they would be waggling their ears, listening to the snicking of the camera, and their ears would be a blur.

Samson
Samson

If I switched to flash, hoping they would close their eyes and look contented, they opened their eyes wide and looked straight at it, so I had to abort those shots… and if I got a suitable flash shot, the depth of field was extremely poor because of being on the automatic setting – so I would end up with a nice sharp cat face with fuzzy ears.

Delilah
Delilah

I need a proper swivel-headed flashgun, not this thing that springs up with a whirring clang on the top of the camera… I also need brighter weather, but if I wait till summer they won’t be kittens any more.

Samson and Delilah
Samson and Delilah
11 responses

  1. Gah! A rather freaky first photo there, though I have a similar collection for my own cat.

    What a pair of cuties…

  2. aw

    still can’t get over you give aliases to your cat. I am relieved that Jolly is genuine. How is he btw?

  3. Samson is still very shy – strange fellow. It’s as though he’s convinced the human arm is a snake poised to strike. I have a feeling he will be wary all his life.

    Delilah is a little shy but not bad – she’ll get steadier as she gets older.

    Jolly and Teal’C are both genuine – they’re still hibernating in the cubby hole. They needed somewhere quiet after being fallen over downstairs.

  4. Very cute. I’m surprised they stood still long enough for a picture.
    Usually ours will get up and follow us as we go get the camera…sort of defeats the whole purpose really 🙂

  5. Frustrating, isn’t it? 🙂
    And I couldn’t work out why your emoticon worked and mine didn’t. Seems it’s quite sensitive. It has to be : ) – not 🙂 or :).

  6. Oh, they are LOVELY! 🙂

  7. Our cats always sniff the camera when we try to take photos. Or I have to make noises so they look at me. Usually they just look away as if they *know* I am trying to take photos and being purposefully haughty.

  8. My Siamese cat always closed his eyes and looked away… it was very rare to get a picture of him with his eyes open. :-).

  9. Nice to see fellow LaPerms here 🙂

  10. Ah, another LaPerm addict… welcome!

Leave a Reply

