All Names Bright and Beautiful

Feeling very lethargic – not really in the mood to deal with anything or do anything. Just want to sit under a blanket and read books. I typed ‘combating lethargy’ in Scroogle, and what I got back was an entry for seasonal affective disorder (SAD).

Hmm, hadn’t thought of that. When I can give it a name, it makes me think maybe it will come to an end and I’ll be pulling my socks up and getting on with things.

I’m still trying to find suitable names for the kittens. Being me, I’m not satisfied with the first names that come to mind  – Thomas, Felix, Princess or whatever. I thought of Smeagol for the Invisible Sulk, then rejected it because it’s probably Name of Choice for cats round about now, along with Gollum, Galadriel and Frodo.

I ended up looking on Baby Names Country, and at first was very happy with the site. It will show you what certain names mean in other languages as well as the one you chose. You can save all your favourites to a list (without registering), and can even search for names by meaning.

You can rate names – I started to mutter when I found that most ordinary names (ordinary to me) have 4 to 5 stars, whereas names that are just different usually have a rating of 2 stars. People are so boring – there’s no other word for it! I couldn’t understand how they could look up certain names and say “this is not my style,” then get all enthusiastic over Michael and Emily.

I got even more annoyed when the site got slower and slower to use, and eventually my list of favourites (containing 14 names) disappeared. The 15th name I added was the first of a new list. I’m not sure what happened there, but I backed up till I found the old list, took a screenshot, and left the site.

Since then I’ve been musing… there are a few names on my list I like very much, but I can’t make up my mind which I like the best. I keep staring at the kittens and asking myself “is she a Dana? Is he a Kanu? Maybe Chiana or D’Argo?” I won’t be calling them any of those as they’re not on the list, but I’m still trying to figure out what suits them the best.

Sleeping on it – that’s the thing to do. Another excuse to indulge my lethargy.

3 responses

  1. I don’t know about Galadriel for a cat. It seems odd.

    Smeagol fits a lurker. I’d offer names, but both my cats ended up being named after themselves and their behaviour, so I’m not much help…

  2. I’ve found a few Galadriel cats on the internet. There’s even a video. Cats always seem to fit their names; sometimes even in the story of their lives (which we couldn’t be expected to know yet). Maybe if I call ‘Sulk’ something sociable, he’ll talk to more people. Hmm…

  3. […] in Names In an earlier blog post, I was mumbling about the ratings received by the more ‘different’ names on Baby Names […]

Leave a Reply

