A New Worry

Well, I said in my last post that something’s afoot – I’m still not sure what. I got a new kitten so that I would have a presence there in my life, and… I can’t even take a photo of it as it’s hiding away. It’s the shyest kitten I’ve ever brought home.

Mum said the two of us are like each other and should be getting along like a house on fire.

It hasn’t eaten much, and when I tried to enter the room this morning, it had barricaded the door with a mountain of stuff – teddy bears, magazines and tins of cat food.

I tried to give it a reassuring hug, and it pushed me away with a rejecting paw and galloped across the floor on its belly. That does a whole lot for my self-esteem! Mum said “you think you’ve got rid of all your worries, and a new one pops up.” There I was thinking that at least a kitten wouldn’t worry me by not eating its food, and this one is not eating its food.

Great.

I’m trying to bond with it by being patient, sitting reading books, or watching quiet videos, and it won’t bond, and I can’t concentrate. When I go away and leave it alone for a while, giving it a chance to look around and get some food down its throat, it finds a new hiding place.

I’m trying to think of a name for it, but so far all I can think of is The Invisible Sulk…

I hope it eats something soon.

5 responses

  1. […] I’ll get to bed now, and let the Invisible Sulk roam unchecked… he might even get on this blog to you, you never know. I hope […]

  2. Give the little guy some time- his life has just changed, and very abruptly.

    My Alice was like that when I first took her home. It made me feel awful to come home and find her cowering under the couch, too afraid to come out.

    But cats are social, curious creatures. Her urge to explore eventually brought her out from under and into my lap.

    Yours will, too. Promise. 🙂

  3. My critter did that for a few days. Now he won’t leave us alone.
    Invisible Sulk will come out soon…

  4. aw hope you and sulky bond

  5. Thanks – he’s not aggressive or anything, just suspicious. Hopefully he will come round eventually. I’m hoping he’ll be like yours, Geosomin – not leaving us alone!

Leave a Reply

