Sleeping in Heavenly Peace

I was answering the comments to my last post and suddenly realized what the tune in my head was.

Still the night,
Holy the night,
All is calm, all is bright.
Mary and Joseph in stable bare,
Watch o’er the child, beloved and fair,
Sleeping in heavenly peace,
Sleeping in heavenly peace.

I don’t know where that came from – it was just there.

Getting into bed last night without Sharky was hard – I’ve had him sleeping there since we moved in, most especially on recent nights when we were cuddled up together more. We both looked forward to that every night – just curling up with each other and enjoying each other’s company for a few quiet hours without interruption or niggly worries.

The night I realized we would have to put him down, I was crying so bitterly he stood up and gently touched his nose to mine, then leaned his forehead against my face.

In the morning I was checking my emails while he slept downstairs on the sofa – then there was a loud squawk, and I turned round, and he was sitting behind me. When I brought him downstairs again, Mum looked astonished and said “I thought he was still on the sofa.”

I took him for a walk around the house, especially letting him look out of the windows, then I carried him around the garden, and he lifted his head, sniffed deeply, and shouted into the trees.

I will miss him.

I was thanking his breeder Kristin for letting me have him, and she said she thought he was special too, and chose his home carefully. She knew I would love him, and has no regrets. I thought that was a lovely thing to say.

Hours after his passing on, I was sitting on the sofa watching TV rather wanly, and Molly (one of Mum’s three cats) came into the room and looked carefully at my lap as though to say “your boy isn’t there any more, is he?”

Then she hopped up.

When Mum came into the room, Molly was enjoying herself having her coat combed. Mum stared and said “nature abhors a vacuum.”

Molly keeps returning for a long snuggle on my lap under the pink blanket (the one Sharky used to snuggle under), and last night she stepped up and kissed my nose.

I think I’ve been adopted.

Leave a Reply

