Who, Which, What, Where?

Chani suggests that everybody answers these 35 questions. Sometimes I think it’s easier to give a point of view when prompted, rather than come out with odd snippets out of the blue… and some of these things are good to say.

I enjoyed filling this out. Some questions I’ve answered before (but can still come up with something new), whereas others were quite hard to answer, and made me think.

1. What is your idea of perfect happiness?

A more inclusive world with more balanced aims and methods… and far fewer control freaks. πŸ™‚

2. What is your greatest fear?

Being misunderstood, spurned and never fully heard.

3. Which living person do you most admire?

I really don’t know. I tried to think whose ways I’ve rather liked recently, and the first to leap to mind was C.J. from the Eggheads. Don’t ask me. That was just the first figure to mind. After Stephen Fry.

4. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Not living up to my own expectations.

5. What is the trait you most deplore in others?

The tendency to dismiss other people, views and experiences as worthless or ‘wrong’.

6. What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

I have to agree with Thailand Gal (Chani) – it’s being ‘hard working’. You have to see the bigger picture and the people around you – not just your own little treadmill.

7. On what occasion do you lie?

Polite lies – “I really enjoyed the dinner.” Or “I would love to come but I’m too busy that day.”

8. What do you dislike most about your appearance?

Probably my shyness – that has an effect on one’s demeanour. πŸ™‚

9. What is your greatest regret?

Not knowing older family members better, including my dad who died when I was 24.

10. What or who is the greatest love of your life?

A lad from Singapore. He came the closest to accepting me for who I was.

11. Which talent would you most like to have?

Clearer, more fluent speech.

12. What is your current state of mind?

‘Hunger’ seems to be the best description – not for food, but for all the things I want to say and achieve right now. I want more hours in the day.

13. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I have to say it, because it’s true – I would welcome nice crisp hearing, just a little bit better than everybody else’s! Just for a change.

14. What do you consider your greatest achievement?

2002 Winning the British Mensa Championsh…. oh, wait! That wasn’t me, that was C.J.
Several times Best in Show Oriental… nuh uh, that was Sharky.
Er.
Oh I know… getting born. All those other spermatazoa were loooooosers.

15. If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?

A cat – claws and all.

16. What is your most treasured possession?

My little house.

17. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

When I worry that nobody understands where I’m coming from and is not prepared to try. A sinking suspicion that people are too busy going round and round in their hamster wheels to stop and really connect.

18. Where would you like to live?

Kenya – or a more rural area of Scotland.

19. What is your most marked characteristic?

Worry.

20. Who are your favorite writers?

Among them: Tove Jansson, Terry Pratchett, Larry Niven, Orson Scott Cart, Neil M Gunn.

21. Who is your favorite hero of fiction?

Same as Chani’s – Anne Shirley. She was a writer and a dreamer. I tried to come up with somebody different, but got stuck. Moominmamma? You’d all think I was crazy.

22. Who are your heroes in real life?

My family and pets… apart from that, I don’t know. I don’t know anybody that well.

23. What is it that you most dislike?

Loud ways, narrow-mindedness.

24. What is your motto?

‘It will all be the same in a hundred years.’

25. Favorite journey?

Chuffing across Kenya by overnight train. Dreamy.

26. What do you value most in your friends?

Willingness to communicate; reliability; kindness.

27. Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

“Personally…”
“What?”
“Oddly enough…”
“I was just thinking…”
“Sigh.”

28. Which historical figure do you most identify with?

GMB (without the drinking)!! If you could call him a historical figure. He certainly liked his history.

29. What is your greatest extravagance?

Books. Bears. Gifts. Nice furnishings for my Most Treasured Possession.

30. If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?

Their age – I would roll it back.

31. What is your favorite occupation?

Pottering around at home.

32. What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Connection of minds.

33. What is the quality you most like in a man?

Connection of minds.

34. How would you like to die?

In my sleep.

35. If you could chose what to come back as, what would it be?

A cat – a well-loved one in a warm home.

Comments for this entry (during its previous life in Blogigo):

1. ThomasLB wrote at Dec 1, 2007 at 22:01: I can relate to #15. I wouldn’t mind coming back as a cat – but I want to come back as *my* cat, and I’m not sure that’s allowed.

2. Diddums wrote at Dec 1, 2007 at 22:34: That could be the basis for an interesting science fiction novel! Especially if the cat was aware he used to be his owner.

3. Pacian wrote at Dec 2, 2007 at 14:12: Now this one, I’m definitely stealing.

Leave a Reply

