Frustration of Various Sorts

Trying to Get Outdoors

Sharky is definitely frustrated! He’s keen to get out and explore, but we keep stopping him. I found that carrying him out to a deckchair and trying to sit with him doesn’t work, as he’s so keen to jump off your knee and head straight for the nearest exit point (hedge, driveway, neighbour’s wall, etc).

Still rattled by his long disappearance earlier, I bought a pink cat harness so I can take him walks round the garden. I would have got him a blue one, but they only had pink left. Luckily I’m not too allergic to the colour. He allows himself to be strapped in but looks a bit of a martyr, closing his eyes and putting his nose in the air. Mum got a fit of the giggles.

I have to say walking dogs is far more interesting than walking a cat. I was falling asleep on my feet while Sharky sniffed at things and tiptoed delicately about, then stared for ages at places where he wanted to go but I wouldn’t let him.

The idea is not to incarcerate him forever, but to get him used to both the garden and the house, and then maybe give him his freedom one bright morning when we’re all out in the garden. I’ve heard too many horror stories of cats taking off shortly after a move.

During one of our perambulations, we found soda cans and bottles popped over the wall into Mum’s garden – obviously from the house next door. There are children living there. They’ve been doing it for years; I think Mum let the parents know in a friendly way that they did tend to put stuff over the wall, including a new jacket once, various play balls and footballs, a soft toy and some yoghurt pots – the parents are friendly and I’m sure they try to put a stop to it, but the boys don’t seem to have grown out of the habit. I mentioned to Mum that I found more of these things, and she seemed unsurprised. “From over there? Yes.” She looked a little sad.

She’s too old to be cleaning up after the neighbours’ kids.

Trying to Watch Films

It’s Bruce Willis season on ITV2 just now – I deliberately missed Unbreakable as I’m not keen on it, and I already blogged what happened when I tried to watch The Sixth Sense. I decided to watch The Last Boy Scout last night on my mother’s TV, as it seemed more likely I would get the subtitles for it.

It was embarrassing, as I rushed around making sure we were all comfortable and had our hot drinks, and then we waited in an anticipatory hush for the film to start… and the subtitles were not making sense.

“Are they lagging behind?” I asked Mum.
“Slightly,” she said.

Oh well, if it’s just slightly, that’s bearable, so I kept watching. When I finally got the hang of where where we were (“Go get his watch!”) I realized it was lagging considerably, not just slightly – you didn’t get the subtitles till halfway through the next scene.

After about 5 minutes of this, the subtitles disappeared altogether and were replaced with “We apologize but there are no subtitles for this programme.” Then after a minute or two, that disappeared as well.

Boo.

We went away and watched The Top 50 Celebrity Animals on Sky Three. (The winner was not a live animal). When that was over, I looked to see if the subtitles had reappeared by the end of The Last Boy Scout – no, there was nothing there.

Looks like I’ll have to wait a bit longer to see this film – maybe buy the DVD in a charity shop if it turns up.

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. Pacian wrote at Aug 9, 2007 at 23:19: There’s nothing more annoying than lagging subtitles.

I actually grew to like Unbreakable when I saw it for the second time. I’m not a big fan of M. Night Shyamalan, but I think he made a very interesting film with that one – even if it doesn’t really go anywhere.

2. Diddums wrote at Aug 11, 2007 at 00:56: I’ll probably watch Unbreakable again, after an interval – there were elements of it that appealed. The scene that sticks in my mind is of the cloaked figure standing in the crowd. There’s a neatness to it which does fit perfectly, but… you have to recognize that to like the story. And there are still things about it that you want to change. 😀

Leave a Reply

