Poor Old Buey

The pouch of cat food I opened for Sharky’s dinner said ‘Beef’. It also said ‘Buey’ and ‘Vaca’.
“Buey,” I lowed. “Buey, buey.”
The cat raised his eyebrows at me from his vantage point on the kitchen floor.
“That’s the noise it makes,” I said. “Till you come along and eat it, that is.”
Sharky smacked his lips enthusiastically.

That’s not artistic licence of any type – he really did choose that moment to lick his chops. He does it anyway as sign language for “I would like some food please.” I like to think that he was listening with eager attention to my lecture, but it’s more likely he was thinking “I wish the old cow would slap that Buey on a dish already – I’m starving!”

Comment for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. Buttercup2 wrote at Jun 25, 2007 at 01:42: Our cat Jordan often smacks or licks his lips when we are eating dinner or having cereal as he wants some of the milk when we are done. His manners are often lacking when it comes to food, but, we adore him anyways as he offers us hours and hours of amusement and cuddling! Aly

Leave a Reply

