Neighbours and Borders

I don’t know if you ever play that ‘competing with the neighbours’ game.

Not ‘keeping up with the Joneses’ so much as attempting to beat them at the minutiae of everyday life. I try to be first to put up the Christmas tree (I win about one year in five), the first to put on the tree lights in the evening – and I try not to be the first to turn on the lights in the house.

I sit here, squinting at the text I’m working on, and every so often cast a despairing glance across the road… windows still dark. Then I think maybe they’re out, or sitting snugly at the back of their house with a small lamp on, and if I carry on like this, I’ll be sitting in the dark till midnight. So I say out loud, “sorry guys, but I need to see my work” – and on goes my light.

I doubt if they noticed at all. They couldn’t anyway, as I think they were out. Even their dog was out (he usually sits and gazes out the window).

Just found this – Disability Carnival: Borders. I’ve not read any of the posts myself; hope to find time soon.

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. geosomin wrote at Jun 19, 2007 at 16:37: This made me giggle, as my “keeping up with the Joneses” is largely composed of “dear god I’d better weed the yard so they don’t complain to the city about the jungle growing in our yard.”
Both our neighbors are currently new, so we’re doing the get-to-know-you find out what irritates you and how to be neighborly dance. I’m hoping things all work out well…

2. Diddums wrote at Jun 20, 2007 at 00:43: Ohhhh – don’t mention the ‘jungle’! I’ve been unable to get at mine because of wet weather and editing. It looks awful.

Leave a Reply

