Stolen Meme

There are suddenly a lot of memes about! They come in waves. I stole this one from Pacian at Space Cat Rocketship. (I edited out my dullest and most predictable answers).

* Your most marked characteristic?
Not sure, but Mum once said I was pedantic. I had no idea why she said that, but one of my friends laughed and said ‘yes.’ Huff.

* What is your principal defect?
Hermit-like tendencies.

* What to your mind would be the greatest of misfortunes?
For Waterworld to come true.

* Who are your favourite prose writers?
Neil Gunn, Rudyard Kipling, Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell, Tove Jansson, George Mackay Brown.

* Who are your favourite poets?
Ted Hughes, Alfred Tennyson, Andrew Marvell, John Donne, John Keats, John Masefield, e e cummings.

* Who are your favourite painters/photographers?
Don’t have any. Some children’s book illustrators are very good, but I’ve never looked out for any in particular. Also, not all artists are ‘painters’ and ‘photographers’.

I’ve found an interesting perspective in Pete’s blog post Nature in Art. Images related to animals and children do seem to be treated as though they shouldn’t be taken seriously; many (especially those with light colour schemes) get landed with the description ‘chocolate box’. Computer art, digital illustrations and certain abstracts are also considered ‘not proper art’, just as digitally improved photographs are ‘cheating’ – and film photographers never do anything artificial in the darkroom; never touch up their photos; never use filters on their cameras; never shoot in black and white; never specially adjust their lighting??… It’s all in the way you think about things, and the way people think can be oddly biased.

* What are your favourite names?
Mythological names, fantasy names and ‘fancy’ names. I tend to think normal names (such as Tom and Max) are unimaginative when used for pets – that’s just my own opinion, though. I prefer ‘Tom’ and ‘Max’ to abusive names (and there are a few about). I used to think up names for show cats. My suggestions tended to be airy and romantic rather than witty and original, which wasn’t necessarily what breeders/owners were looking for – they used some of my names, though. Most people would rather think up names of their own, so now I just keep quiet, except for a few sops so that they will think I’m trying when I’m really not.

* What is it you most dislike?
Insensitivity, lack of imagination and the crossroads between the two. (That was Pacian’s answer, but I can’t think of a better one. I might add witch hunts and the ‘mob’ mentality. Applies to blogs as well – a group of them can get on the war path at times).

* What natural gift would you most like to possess?
Space. Fewer people treading on my heels in the street and jamming themselves into the back of my chair in cafés. More space would do me a lot of good – other natural gifts (such as ‘confidence’, ’employment’ and ‘general good humour’) would swiftly follow.

* How would you like to die?
Gently, in my sleep, during a pleasant drowsy dream – and without giving anyone a nasty shock in the process. That means I have to be very old or very ill, so that people know it’s going to happen. Just not dragging on for ages, though!

* What is your present state of mind?
Disillusioned. But…

* What is your motto?
“After clouds, sunshine.”

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. Pacian wrote at Jun 12, 2007 at 15:17: The name on my cat’s pedigree certificate thing is ‘Cesaro Moonlight’, or something like that. (That is not the name that I call him!)

“Disillusioned. But…”

That is a good state of mind. Now move on to stage 2.

2. Diddums wrote at Jun 12, 2007 at 17:30: That’s a good name! One of my cats had a ‘Tom, Dick or Harry’ name as his pet name, but it was already part of his show name, and everybody called him that anyway, from the breeder onwards, so… I didn’t feel I could change it. Wouldn’t have been him any more, if I did. 🙂

3. Bunnyman wrote at Jun 19, 2007 at 00:55: Hmm, I’ve been displaying signs of your principal defect recently. This is an interesting meme. Wonder if I could borrow it some time?

4. Kikipotamus wrote at Jun 19, 2007 at 04:08: Oh, yes! I forgot about e. e. cummings. How could I?

Leave a Reply

