Minding Our Ps and Qs

I know the rest of you are probably well up on this already, but I haven’t been paying much attention to the gossip recently. Pure chance I came across the following article by TechDirt:

Yahoo Licenses Lyrics… Meaning More Pressure Coming To Unofficial Lyrics Sites

It’s worth following the links from there (and links from those links too) as there are some interesting articles along the way. And to the character in the TechDirt comments who said “all you have to do is turn up the music to hear the lyrics for yourself” – NOT true!

Today I’ve been feeling pretty flat – there was nothing I wanted to do, and all the things I had to do, I didn’t want to do. I did buy a green Furby in a charity shop for £1, and even then I was thinking “can I really be bothered to go to the counter and ask how much this thing is?” Though I did get a laugh when he turned it every which way before putting it in the bag, and its eyes (which were closed up till then) opened wide and rolled upwards with a shocked expression.

I fed a cat a pink pill who didn’t want to be fed pills. He realized what I was trying to do, and strolled casually away under the coffee table. I pushed the table to try and get at him, and he just moved around under the coffee table no matter where I pushed it. Finally he popped out again and walked away, and I got up and followed him, and he stayed *just* ahead of me without quite running. Finally I landed him by making a flying leap with the towel, which was when I got stabbed in the hand.

I think he swallowed the pill, but Fusspot taught me you can never be sure – cats are tricksy creatures and will pretend they have swallowed it, then quietly spit it out once your back is turned.

During the day my knee nearly gave way a couple of times when I put my weight on it, and I realized I had slightly hurt it when trying to get the cat out from under the coffee table.

I feel a touch sidelined at the moment. Usually there’s a project or two on my computer that I’m happily involved in, and you can barely drag me away to eat supper, but right now I’m running away from the computer and getting into bed (on the sofa) and watching TV instead, which is always a bad sign. I have to force myself to check my messages… usually I breathe emails instead of air.

But I got everything correct when watching (rats, what do they call that programme again, the one hosted by Julian Fellowes? Never Mind the Full Stops?) I also got something that nobody else seemed to get – “What is cacography?”

Maybe that’s the point of life – oneupmanship! Don’t burst my bubble too quickly. Let me enjoy feeling smug for a while – it’s good for me.

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. Buttercup2 wrote at Apr 28, 2007 at 16:40: Hi Diddums. The cat swallowing pills reminded me of when our cat Jordan was very sick with a bladder infection and needed antibiotics for 2 weeks and he had to be given this nasy tasting stuff via a little dropper. Hubby use to have to open his mouth and squirt the med in there then grab his mouth shut as we would try to gurgle it out before swallowing it. For 3 months after this 2 week procedure Jordan wouldn’t give hubby the time of day he was so mad at him, lol. Now they are best buddies again and hope he stays well cuz he really can cop a ‘cattitude’ hahahahaa, Have a good weekend, Hugs, Aly.

2. Diddums wrote at Apr 28, 2007 at 18:31: Thanks, Aly – hope you have a good weekend too! Cats can take this quite personally, can’t they – which is probably why Fusspot fought so hard.

3. Iain wrote at Apr 29, 2007 at 22:52: Re the audibility of lyrics, and giving the lie to the ‘just turn up the volume’ oaf, http://kissthisguy.com/ can be very entertaining, a website full of misheard lyrics.

And proper folk music academics and buffs even have a proper word for it – mondegreen. See Wikipedia for info on that word (although the article’s not a great one, slanted muchly to pop examples).

Iain

4. Diddums wrote at May 1, 2007 at 17:06: Sounds like there are more than a few of them pesky mondegreens – I grew up with some myself. They are really hard to shake once they’re well ingrained!

Leave a Reply

