A Version of Myself with Big Ears and Pink Fur

Blurred photo of pink teddy bear

Omniscent teddy bear

The other morning I was thinking again about Bear, my ted-in-chief. I’ve joked more than once that he finds things. It doesn’t matter what I’ve lost – a book, specs, pens, tissues; even a magazine article – if I ask him where they are, he answers without hesitation. And he always gets it right.

It gets so that I’m afraid of spoiling his record, and don’t ask him very often. Today, though, I was stumbling vaguely from room to room, looking on the desk, a stool, a window sill… “where are my specs?”

Bear said, “on the table beside the sofa.”
And there they were.

Perhaps I’ve found a way of tapping into my subconscious. Logic and memory come together to inform me. Or my mind wanders so much that I do the ‘stumbling vaguely from room to room’ thing with my thoughts here and there; asking Bear “where?” is a way of snapping out of the fog I’m in.

It’s all very mystifying

Bear photo © Diddums, 2007

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. geosomin wrote at Apr 25, 2007 at 16:35: Does your bear have an omniscient friend who’d like to come visit Canada? I’m constantly losing things! 🙂

2. Diddums wrote at Apr 26, 2007 at 16:07: Bear says there’s one in a shop near you. Just go from shop to shop (or stall to stall – wherever seems right to you) till you find one that you can’t put down. That’s the one who will be your Om bear…

Leave a Reply

