Light Burblings

Mum stepped into the house today, sniffed appreciatively, and said “mm, it smells nice in here.” I was surprised because all I had done was:

(1) run washing machine and hang some stuff up to dry
(2) run dishwasher
(3) wash down the front of the washing machine even as it sloshed
(4) sweep hall and kitchen
(5) shake out a few rugs
(6) open the back door to let the air flow in
(7) waste time on the computer

I hadn’t even made a start yet on washing the floor, even though I had swept it.

It’s like being asked what’s that nice perfume you’re wearing, when you’re not wearing any! I don’t know what the nice smell was around the house, as I didn’t notice anything particular. Maybe it was the cherry blossom from the trees swishing through the open door into the house, or the washing powder from the clean clothes, or the stuff I washed the washing machine with – it’s very good at cutting through any stale smells or even catty smells. It could be the improved feng shui with all the extra space for energy to wriggle around in. My attic is almost empty now, and the feng shui must be having a ball up there. All it has to stop it in its tracks is:

(1) a heavy suitcase full of clothes
(2) two Christmas trees trying desperately to pretend they’re one
(3) a box of collectable china
(4) an aerobics step, destined for the auction room
(5) a large empty chest which was there when I moved in and I never put anything in it

Or the freshness could simply be that I only have one cat now, instead of four…

Talking of the cat, when I went to bed last night, he was already relaxed on the downie. I got my book and put it on the bed. (Picture me carrying it to the bed towards Sharky). He reached out for it with a paw, his gaze eager. It was laid down beside him, and he patted it in satisfaction, as though to say, “yes, we absolutely must have The Book.”

The minute I crawled into bed, he was on the move – oozing up the downie and into my arms. He snuggled down with his head pillowed against me, gazing up with stars in his eyes, purring. He’s always been affectionate but I was a little taken aback. I smiled, and talked at him, and he reached out a tender paw and tapped my mouth. A few claws came out and he trailed them tenderly over the lines of my face, at which point I started laughing outright. It didn’t seem to put him off.

Today Mum came over and he went and sat with her, and I said “he’s been so soppy recently. I wonder if he’s missing Fusspot.”
“No, no!” she said. “He’s enjoying every minute of being the only one.”

Maybe. I suspect it’s a bit of both. When I’m away from the house (dog-walking or something), he’s all alone here. The neighbouring cats were around a lot, often sneaking into my house the minute my back was turned, but I’ve not seen them for a few days now.

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. Bunnyman wrote at Apr 17, 2007 at 02:23: All those cleaning achievements are enough to put me to shame. Yesterday I managed to hoover half a room before getting distracted by a book I forgot I had. Sound’s like the computer’s lucky it didn’t get a little polish as well.

That fresh smell of Spring is definitely in the air. There’s a very long, wide avenue of blossom trees here and although they only flourish for a short while, they really do brighten things up. I wonder whether Sharky’s feeling some of this Spring sweetness?

2. Jo (kitschkitten) wrote at Apr 17, 2007 at 03:27: Awww – kitty cat love. I used to have a cat, Gary, who used to always gaze into my eyes and touch my face with her affectionate paw. Gigi has started doing this a bit lately now too. I love the face touch. It really warms the cockles…

3. drifting wrote at Apr 17, 2007 at 07:49: The actions of your cat seem to mirror mine. He was in a cattery while I went up north, then he was alone for two nights while I went to my brother’s. He’s been very affectionate ever since. He has been smooching and purring at every available opportunity, including sitting beside me while I browse the net and slept on my bed last night, something he doesn’t normally do. Poor thing must have missed the company.

4. Diddums wrote at Apr 18, 2007 at 01:31: Bunnyman: I do that all the time – get sidetracked! Not usually once I’ve got the hoover roaring, but both before and after…

Jo: When a cat pats my mouth, though, I wonder if he’s saying “shush! You talk too much!” I remember someone saying whenever she started singing, her cat would place his paw firmly on her mouth.

Drifting: that does seem to be it then – he must get a bit lonely when I’ve gone off for the day. The night that he was being particularly soppy, I had been out walking the dog. Well, he won’t be alone for long… not sure what he’ll make of Mum’s cats, or what they will make of him!

5. Pacian wrote at Apr 18, 2007 at 15:34: When my cat’s lonely he just meows, knowing that I’ll come shower him with affection if he does so.

6. Diddums wrote at Apr 18, 2007 at 18:33: Ah – I’m definitely coming back as a cat in my next life! That is, if I can’t be a blogger again…

Leave a Reply

