Foodfight

When Fusspot was still alive, I was looking at things to tempt him with. He and Sharky both licked the jelly and ignored the chunks of meat, so I was looking for a catfood pâté. Unfortunately these are expensive and I looked around quietly for a while, then noticed something. I said to Mum, “the individual tins of Hi-Life are cheaper than the boxed Hi-Lifes.” (It was a special offer). She picked one up and I glanced over her shoulder, seeing another woman coming up the aisle. I felt wary, and thought we better not broadcast it all over the supermarket, at least till I was certain of my share, but Mum said loudly, “YES, THESE ARE DEFINITELY THE CHEAPEST.”

The woman pricked up her ears and moved in.

I chose my first tin, and she was already shovelling individual tins of Hi-Life into her basket.

OK, so I’m not just being paranoid.

On the other hand, we mustn’t jump to conclusions; maybe she has an old sick cat too, and knew about these before me. This is NOT a supermarket squabble.

I got four tins, then turned away. The woman cast me a sideways glance, took a few more, and left. I went back for four more tins. I don’t like it when we were there first and someone reaches past and starts taking them from under your nose; it doesn’t cost anything to wait a little. It’s just overpriced catfood.

Comments for this entry (during its previous life on Blogigo):

1. Geosomin wrote at Mar 27, 2007 at 23:58: You’re right…if it were me lurking and grabbing, I’d at least ask first!
Although the “hey what’s that over there?” trick might come in handy…:)

2. Diddums wrote at Mar 28, 2007 at 00:54: I never thought of that – will have to try that next time!

Leave a Reply

