The Creeping Shadows Gather

On Christmas afternoon we watched Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, then my sister and I went home. There was a large ‘splash’ visible on Mum’s front doorstep which puzzled me no end. Finally I asked Mum, “What’s THAT?”
“E threw out the dog’s water.”
“Oh,” I said, relieved – “I thought maybe it was Voldemort.”
She gave me a look, but, you know, it could have been him in one of his half-life forms, having just been vanquished for the umpteenth time.

You never know.

Leave a Reply

