Lost in Thought

I keep doing things without thinking, which is nice but disconcerting. I wake from my thoughts and find myself doing something like washing a frying pan when I don’t remember picking it up.

Yesterday, when I came back from the supermarket, I put the bags of food in the kitchen. Musing deeply, I hung up my coat, gave the cats some kibble, then put the kettle on for coffee. I shook myself out of my thoughts and said, “I better put away the food.” Turned – no bags of food! After standing for a minute, looking this way and that in a puzzled fashion, I realized I had put everything away already, and the bags as well. I just didn’t remember doing it.

Maybe I do have a clone, somewhere – one who has just woken up from hibernation?

Leave a Reply

