Racing Against the TV

I raced the television tonight. It was showing GoldenEye (a James Bond film) on ITV2. I always watch this because Alan Cumming is Boris Grishenko – and then there is Sean Bean as Alex, or 006.

A little way into the film, when the characters had got past all the dramatic introductory stuff and started talking to each other, I realized there were no subtitles. This was one of ITV2’s things which was supposed to be subtitled but didn’t appear to be. How that happens, I don’t know.

Well now Sean Bean and Pierce Brosnan are galloping about, up to no good in Ouromov’s wash house, and I shuffle over to the corner to fetch my GoldenEye video. I know this has got captions, so I can watch this instead. I put it on, and watch it from the beginning, from the point where James Bond comes running along the top of the dam and jumps off.

Occasionally I stop the video to get coffee. Out of curiosity, I check back to see how ITV2 is doing. It’s falling behind! The subtitles have still not surfaced, and often I find myself tuning into a commercial – it always seems to be the same one.

When I finally reach the end of GoldenEye (happily our heroine doesn’t get killed in this one) I switch to ITV2 to see where they’ve got to, and James Bond and the girl are just starting to roll down the big dish towards the gap in the middle. They have a way to go…

Edit Feb 2008: Comments for this entry when it was hosted on Blogigo:

1. Pacian wrote at Nov 8, 2006 at 21:53:
Apparently advertisers are demanding more and more air time because people are ignoring their adverts more and more…

(Spot the vicious cycle.)

2. Diddums wrote at Nov 9, 2006 at 20:40:
There has to be a breaking point somewhere, and something tells me it’s not us who’s going to break.

Leave a Reply

