Old Cop-Out: the Sunset Post

Last night I dreamed I was looking at my blog and noticed that a lot of my text was in boxes. I was shocked, and thought to myself “I must let them out – otherwise people will be saying I keep my words in cages.”

Odd dream.

Do you ever think to yourself, “Oh no – I’ve got to take a photo of that now, or I’ll forever be kicking myself for letting the moment slide”? I do that every time I look outside and there’s a lovely fluffy red sunset. Or an interesting cloud. Or my cats are curled up symmetrically, light and dark, yin and yang.

When you go out without your camera, that’s one thing; you just shrug; “Pity I don’t have it with me. Maybe tomorrow.” But when you see something and the camera is right there, you have no excuse – you must drop whatever you’re doing and reach for it; take it out of its case, turn it on, remove the lens cap and out you go, muttering and mumbling. “Wretched beautiful sunset, I don’t have time for you right now. I would rather be reading NaBloPoMo posts.”

But time, tide and sunsets wait for nobody.

This is tonight’s – a sweeping November sunset with bits of flashed-out bush caught in the frame.

Sweeping Sunset
November 2006
© Diddums

Leave a Reply

