Signs of the Blogs

While categorizing the older posts, I found this one: Spelt Exactly How it Says on the Tin

The bit that caught my attention was:

It’s impossible to switch off my niggle radar – my whole life is a kind of busman’s holiday. I just know if they put me in a reality show to swop lives with someone else, they would be forcing me to write ‘WD40’ without hyphens. “You must learn to loosen up. It’s good for you,” they would say. Then they would catch me red-handed, in the middle of the night, correcting my blog by flashlight.

It crossed my mind that swopping blogs would be mildly entertaining, though to no real point – imagine if you took over another blogger’s blog for a while and tried to write the sort of posts they might write. It would be easier if you also lived their life for a while so that you would be writing about the same people and things. Or then again, it would be more fun to stay in your own home and make it all up, then you could add silly things like “I went up Ben Nevis with my wheelie bag and felt quite alright, thank you kindly.”

Come to think of it, I’ve seen people ‘blog-sitting’ so it’s not really a new idea. It can be confusing. I remember tuning in to one blog and not realizing it was under the control of a different writer. There was something not quite right and I was perplexed, then realized the stark truth… imposter!

I suppose it’s more fun for the bloggers than the readers, an exception being the sort of situation where a friend or family member steps in to convey information while the main blogger is elsewhere.

On a slightly different subject, you would think personal blogs (if saved for posterity) would be interesting for historians if viewed as a whole. Even the most casual blogs (if not too introverted) reveal patterns and directions similar to shoals of fish darting about the reefs. For instance a number of British blogs recently have been talking about ‘torrential rain’. Not just any rain, you notice. It’s torrential rain. Most of us enjoy it even while we complain – we speak of the comfort we feel when looking out at a damp grey landscape. That won’t be interesting to historians, who will presumably have access to proper weather reports, but it’s just an example – there are other common topics and viewpoints.

Like… hem… well, very early in the year I was noting down bloggable topics – I wanted to describe the beautiful Scottish spider webs coated with ice. I never got round to it, but when I visited other Scottish blogs, they all seemed to be admiring their frosty cobwebs. One provided photos – much nicer than anything I could have come up with. It gave me a shock. I thought I was the only one observant enough to come up with such blog posts, and at the same time I was struck by the fact that all the blogs about icy webs (at least just then) were Scottish. I’m just a typical Scot after all – nothing out of the ordinary. Just one of the tiny silver fish in the middle of the shoal.

Maybe some of those other ‘silver fish’ live next door. Right at this very moment they could be posting: “as I gaze dreamily across the road, I see a woman sitting at her window – she stares into her computer monitor all the time and never looks out at the world long enough to behold small but beautiful things… such as spiders’ webs bejewelled with dew.”

Hang on while I draw my curtains.

Huff.

2 responses

  1. This is an interesting concept. I stopped in a blog a few times where the brother took over for the sister if she was out of town or in the hospital or anything where she wasn’t going to be able to blog. It was kind of fun to read, as he did mention her quite a bit and write as she would. He did always announce up front tho that he was just “sitting in”.

  2. That sounds less confusing than a post that doesn’t introduce who’s writing it… I quite like the ones where family members step in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

