Drifting Songs

All it takes to bring a song into your head is something with the same cadence.

At the car boot sale I sat in the car, admiring the blue sky, open fields (with sea beyond) and hot sunshine. I was also watching a flock of seagulls soaring through the air – they had the doughnut stall as their main focus. Something flittered past with shorter wings; when it got closer I realized it was a duck. Another followed it. A couple of crows buzzed around – they are big birds, but in the company of gulls they appear puny with stubby wings. A particularly massive gull came down for a ponderous landing, spotting something that might be tasty – none of the smaller gulls pushed in too close. Closer at hand, a butterfly drifted lazily by, then a bee zinged past. It was just a speck but somehow you know it’s a bee. It’s not even a wasp.

“The air is full of flying things,” I thought, feeling outnumbered.

Life is full of wondrous things, it’s true
But it wouldn’t have much meaning without you!

Some quiet evenings I sit by your side
And we’re lost in a world of our own
I feel the glow of your unspoken love
I’m aware of the treasure that I own
And I say to myself, it’s wonderful, wonderful
Oh, so wonderful my love!

Having appeared in my head, the song hung around for the rest of the day in company with others from the same album – mostly my great favourite…

If your sweetheart sends a letter of goodbye
It’s no secret
you feel better
If you cry
When waking from a bad dream
Don’t you sometimes think it’s real
But it’s only false emotion that you feel

These songs are part of who I am and I don’t need to listen to the record to remember every note. I used to think grown-ups lived in a magical world of blue skies and sunshine. When they fell in love, it was forever, and they took each other seriously and never hurt each other or played games. The fact that it doesn’t seem to be true is not the fault of the songs – they are the aspirations; we the dreamers falling short. They are sung with as much heart as anything, and only a real cynic could say “too saccharine, too shallow, not for me.”

If your heartaches seem to hang around
Too long
And your blues oh…
They keep getting bluer with each song
Remember the sunshine can be found
Behind the cloudy sky
So let your head down and go on and cry

First song: Wonderful Wonderful by Johnny Mathis
(Bet you didn’t know he had an official website – nor did I!)

Second song: Cry by… I’m not sure who sang ‘my’ one…

To think this whole thing was started by the birds and the bees… and butterfly, sorry.

Leave a Reply

