Who Do You Support – and Should it Affect Business Decisions?

Anybody else notice this news item from The Scotsman about Scots losing business because of the sides they take (or don’t take) in the World Cup? I wonder if it is happening anywhere else? It’s a hot topic… when I read that news article there were at least 98 comments at the foot of it.

What I see is a company taking business away from another company who, as far as I’m aware, have said nothing at all about which teams they are supporting in the World Cup (and it’s probably a fair mixture). That seems a shame to me.

As a child I was clueless when it came to supporting one’s own nation. We were watching It’s a Knockout! – a wacky obstacle-course sports thing with different countries participating. My sister said “I support the team with GB on their backs.”

I was too young to know that GB stood for Great Britain, or what the other letters meant – all I knew was that my sister supported GB, so I had to find a team of my own to support. That way it was more fun and maybe I could beat her. I thought the letters CZ looked nice, so I chose that. CZ and their small Scottish supporter didn’t do particularly well, as far as I remember. But that’s the name of the game.

Edit Feb 2008: Comments to this post when it was on Blogigo:

kateblogs wrote at Jun 12, 2006 at 20:37:
There are 237 comments now – it has certainly got people talking. Unfortunately, bigots from both sides have also crawled out of the woodwork, but I suppose that was to be expected. It is a shame that we are still having these petty arguments, we are neighbours for goodness sake!

I think the programme you were watching was It’s a Knockout! Well, if I am remembering correctly.

Diddums wrote at Jun 13, 2006 at 01:04:
And now there are 315! Many that should have been reported – some of the ones I saw before have probably been removed already.

Thanks, that’s right! Oddly, when I looked up It’s a Knockout, I found a bit about it on a page with the heading I love 1966. That’s a year that gets mentioned a lot in the football argument.

drifting wrote at Jun 13, 2006 at 07:20:
My brother, although married to a German and having lived in Germany, refuses to back the German team. He was disappointed they won their first game. Instead he likes to support the underdog. Similarly I don’t want to support NZ or Australia (we’re a contrary lot). I’ll probably go for the Brits!

Diddums wrote at Jun 13, 2006 at 12:52:
Yes, it’s strange – you like your neighbour or resident country, work with them, trade with them, but when you’re used to having your own separate side, it doesn’t seem quite right to support the other side when your own side isn’t playing. As some of the people commented in the news article, it boils down to a normal spirit of rivalry. In this case though, I’m not taking sides as I’m not following the football.

kateblogs wrote at Jun 13, 2006 at 17:04:
“I found a bit about it on a page with the heading “I love 1966.” That’s a year that gets mentioned a lot in the football argument.”

Well, 1966 was a very important year – I was born! I believe some English team won something too, but my birth was obviously the thing everyone was celebrating. What else could it be? LOL

It is curious the way people decide which team they will support. I do it myself, teams with players from Liverpool FC are my top choice, followed by teams from countries where I have had a nice holiday. Those are followed by teams from countries I would like to visit.

BTW Pete at http://thequacksoflife.blogspot.com has mentioned your post!

Diddums wrote at Jun 13, 2006 at 23:00:
Ah, that explains why 1966 kept popping up :-).

Rushed hotfoot to read Pete’s blog post on the football. It led me to think that the thing that’s interesting about the difference between sports and the Eurovision Song Contest (cough) is that we get rapped over the knuckles (particularly by Terry Wogan) if we vote for neighbours. In our case, people might say “they gave 12 points to Ireland – of course they would!” I suppose it’s not at all the same, except that I stocked up on snacks and soft drinks for the Eurovision while others stocked up on beer and crisps for the World Cup. Yes I know, I’m sad, don’t tell me… LOL.

kateblogs wrote at Jun 15, 2006 at 21:46:
LOL yes that’s true. Britain always votes for Ireland in Eurovision, and that is seen as cheating, but at any other time we are expected to support each other. It’s very odd. Having said that I did notice both groups of fans supporting each other durng the last World Cup.

Mr Blogs bought some beer for the match earlier, I stuck to a glass of wine. Beer gives me hiccups. I don’t blame you for stocking up on snacks and drinks, it makes it more of an event.

One response

  1. […] The Aw Diddums blog has moved to WordPress. This post can be found there.  […]

Leave a Reply

