A Faceful of Spring Flowers

If I don’t smother my face with a nice moisturizing cream after showering or having a bath, my skin dries out and is quite tight and sore. I finished my pot of L’Oréal Hydrafresh – the name inspires an image of beautiful soft tentacles… because we’re worth it! So then I went to town to buy more.

Do you have any idea how confusing that is? There are whole racks of lotions and moisturizers and toners and gels, and you have to decide whether you want a day cream, a night cream, an anti-wrinkle cream, a hypoallergenic cream, a barrier cream, an eye cream, or…? You find yourself tempted by the anti-ageing creams, and then you look at the price and it says £12.99 (or something similar). The cheapest pots of cream I could see were around £4, but even then I was hesitating. I actually left the shop and came back later, and stood staring at this wall of oils, greases and unguents. Mum found a huge pot of Cyclax Vitamin E face and body cream – it was either 99p or £1.99. After all that hesitating (and recent splurging on books), this was a clear winner!

It smells lovely – of spring flowers. I keep reaching out for extra dabs of it, the same as you would return to the bowl for another handful of popcorn. The cats like it too, but they love anything I use after showering. If I stroke them, they clamp their noses to my hand as though magnetized, and take deep, blissful breaths.

Talking to Mum afterwards, I was complaining about the cost of these face creams, and she said some of the ones advertised on TV are about £20. What?! If this stuff really works, all the wealthy will be wrinkle-free whereas the struggling… oh, that’s true anyway. So what the hey.

Off to see if there’s anything on TV apart from adverts for things I can’t afford. Talking of which, it always seemed mad to me that if you pay to get rid of the ads in your software or blog space or whatever, you must have enough money to be able to spend on things like that. The ones who continue to receive the ads are the ones who can’t afford whatever’s being advertised anyway. Haven’t the sponsors realized that yet? Maybe I shouldn’t shout it too loud…

Edit Feb 2008: Comments I received when this post was hosted by Blogigo:

drifting wrote at May 29, 2006 at 00:44:
Face Creams – yes I know exactly what you mean. I sometimes feel I should be putting more on my face than just some cheap moisturiser then go to the shops and look at the prices and think ‘hell’. Anti-wrinkle creams, yes that’s for me. Look at the price ‘bloody hell’. So I stick to old faithful. Can’t stop ageing anyway, sigh. I once read from a dermatologist that he reckoned they were all essentially the same anyway and you didn’t have to spend your life savings on a pot of cream, but use something like wheatgerm oil.

kateblogs wrote at Jun 1, 2006 at 19:51:
I use Johnson’s baby lotion as a moisturiser, have done ever since my boys were tiny. It’s relatively cheap, and seems to work. People often tell me I look younger than I am. Of course, that might just be politeness LOL.

Leave a Reply

