Break Your Neck in One Easy Lesson

My family’s not all that much like other families, or maybe other families don’t admit it! I was over at Mum’s today and just as I got up to go, she said “I’ve got something for you.” She entered her bedroom while I waited outside, and after a moment I noticed a large cuddly pig peeping round the door.

“Hello,” I said – “who are you?”
The pig came all the way out to greet me, holding a blue sign with the words ‘Someone Piggin Special’.
She was lovely! I have a family of cuddly Piggins – two parents and a host of Piggin brats. Seeing the challenging light in the eyes of the new one, I said “she’s the grandmother!”

I feel all fuzzy and warm now.

Well that might seem peculiar and somewhat ‘lose-a-guy-in-10-days’ish, but when I was out earlier, I saw something so peculiar it was downright dangerous. More like ‘lose-a-life-in-10-minutes’.

I was walking along the pavement with Thundercloud, having just left a small park, and a man passed us on a bicycle. With one hand he was steering the handlebars and with the other he was clamping a long grey pipe under his arm. The pipe can’t have been far short of 3 metres long.

My first thought was “I’m glad he didn’t hit me with that.” Or if I had swung out suddenly, he could have taken fright and wobbled over towards the middle of the road, even though a car was currently overtaking him.

I still can’t get my head round how someone thinks he can get off with transporting pipes by bicycle. I will stick with my plush toys! I might be piggin peculiar but I’m not dangerous. Yet.

Edit Feb 2008: I liked the comments I got when this post was still on Blogigo.

davecathy wrote at May 9, 2006 at 12:39:
A cyclist carrying a drain pipe is bad enough, but I have several times seen cyclists taking their dog for a (quick) trot, the lead attached to the handlebars. In my book, that is both a riding offence and cruelty to the pooch.

Even worse, there is a man who regularly takes his dog round the local park by means of dangling the lead out of his car window. If I could run as fast as his poor dog had to, I would have told him what I thought of him and his odious pastime.

Oink Oink.

Diddums wrote at May 10, 2006 at 01:49:
They must have a lot of confidence – maybe too much. How does one drive while (1) making sure dog doesn’t run too close to car; (2) without crashing said car? Brr.

kateblogs wrote at May 11, 2006 at 20:25:
I’ve seen people walking their dogs whilst riding bikes, but driving a car! Thats incredible, I hate to be insulting, but how dumb are they?

Yes, stick to your pigs Diddums, at least they are safe. And I must be peculiar too, I have one sitting next to my pc. LOL.

Diddums wrote at May 11, 2006 at 21:14:
Those pigs get around :-). Hopefully not by bicycle.

Leave a Reply

